2013 Sweet 16: Best Ever?

Almost every game was in doubt until late, breaking attendance records, and Mr. Basketball finalists leading their teams deep. Can any tournament from the past top this years?

Definitely a good one ... but I think that these are better (lots of close games/OT's/underdogs/etc):

1986 (Pulaski County/Reggie Hansen/Shannon Fraley with winning runner with 9 seconds to go over heavily favored PRP)

1987 (Clay County/Richie Farmer .. I will never forget the picture in the Kentucky post .. Richie Farmer with a 40 year old mustache and Allan Huston in the background with a look of disappointed anger on his face)

1985 (Hopkinsville Over Clay County ... 9th Grade Richie Farmer with full beard)

1988 (PRP over Wayne County ... Wayne County .. the ultimate underdawg all week .. with the best name in Sweet 16 history .. Jimmy John Owens ... almost pulled it out).

I guess I was a Farmer fan ... too bad he turned out to be such a tool.

But ... this is the first time in a LONG time where I actually watched every game ... so I have a feeling that it will end up on my "all time" list if you ask me the same question in 5 years.

Everybody cringed at last year's state tournament and the physical play and Julian passed down the edict to clean up the physical play.

Then you have this year's Sweet 16 which was really really good. Was it because the physical play was cleaned up?

IMO, I didn't see much clean up in how the game was called in the 9th Region this year.

What I think happened this year at the Sweet 16 was that you had really good teams in the field and most everyone had good to great guard play. Hawkins, Bosley, Snider, Bolden and on and on. That is what made this tournament a little more wide open.

I think the attendance was skewed a bit by Madison Central and Montgomery advancing as far as they did.

All in all a very entertaining Sweet 16.

Definitely a good one ... but I think that these are better (lots of close games/OT's/underdogs/etc):