Anyone in the medical field ? I need a doctor or someone really smart.

MBWC41

I need some advice.

I've played sports my entire life so by now I know the difference between an ache and an injury. I have some type of injury in my right arm.

My shoulder pops and grinds every time I rotate it. I graduated high school with a fastball in the high 70's to low 80's and now I can't throw a ball from third to first. It burns everytime I throw and I have very little power in my right arm. I assumed it was my rotators cuff, that seems like a common injury. I had an MRI done and I got my results back today.

Heres the deal. It's not my rotators cuff. I have a lateral tilt of the distal acromion with type III acromion with inferiorly projecting hook. There is also acromionclavicular joint arthropathy with a distal clavicular spur and fibrous overgrowth of the acromioclavicular joint capsule, which projects into the adjacent soft tissues. Thats the biggest part of my MRI papers word for word.

Could someone put this into working man terms for me ? Because right now I know I need therapy and most likely surgery but still dont have the slightest clue what is really wrong with my arm.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Above the rotator cuff is a bony projection from the scapula (shoulder blade) called the acromion. The acromion forms the “ceiling” of the shoulder, serves as the point of origin for the deltoid muscle, and joins the clavicle (collarbone) to form the acromioclavicular (a/c) joint.

I would venture to say it means you have arthritis in your shoulder that has formed bone spurs from wear and tear. It also sounds like there's some growth of fibrous tissue from the damage.

The Acromion is the joint were the clavicle (collar bone) and scapula (shoulder blade) join together. Arthropathy is any disease of a joint.