9th Region Week 6 Review: No more Undefeated Teams

PP1

Well it’s been an interesting week. Highlands lost their first game and Cov Cath limped their way to a 68-point victory. Scotty Draud from Beechwood scored his 2,000th point and some mental math by the Rainmen on bluegrasspreps.com suggest that 3,000 points is a possibility.

There seems to be a 9th Region JV Tournament in our midst. I do not know much about this tournament, but I applaud the Varsity coaches in the region in their collaboration to let this tournament take place. As a former 8th and 10th Region Coach, I recall some individual districts having JV Tournaments, but not an entire region. I have been working in the 9th since 2016, so my information could be outdated.

The All A begins this week and will take place at St. Henry High School. While Beechwood and Newport Central Catholic drew the “play-in game” they should be heavily favored to make it to the semi-finals. It appears that Holy Cross drew the toughest quarter-final match-up having to face St. Henry on their home floor. The 9th Region is unique because almost half of the schools that qualify for the All A are private schools. I have done no state-wide research in this area, but I do not think other regions have this characteristic (notice I did not say “problem” because I do not feel that it is a “problem). Interestingly enough, the 8th region has no private schools at all.

Not sure if everyone realizes it but we are almost exactly half-way through the season. As the official scholar of the 9th Region, I write 11 weekly summaries throughout the year and this is number 6.

Regional Rankings