I'm Josh Moore, the new HS sports guy at the Lexington Herald-Leader...

...and I hope to serve as many fans of Kentucky high school sports as possible! I've been doing a bit of leg work for a month now in preparation for the upcoming fall sports season and have already written some stories you may have read. (Before taking a short vacation, I most recently covered Kash Daniel's announcement since Ben Roberts was en route to cover the Peach Jam.)

Here's a little bit about me. I'm from a small eastern Kentucky town called Lovely and graduated from Sheldon Clark in 2009. I got my bachelor's degree in Integrated Strategic Communication (advertising focus) and English from UK. I've been at the Herald-Leader for nearly six years, starting as a very part-time news assistant, becoming a full-time copy editor about two years ago and now realizing a dream of actually being paid real American dollars to write about sports. I'm a huge NBA fan (Go Cavs!) and own a decent-sized Power Rangers collection.

You may have heard that Mike Fields retired from the Lexington Herald-Leader in June. Mike is a tremendous individual who did more for high school athletics than is calculable with his top-notch insight, ears-to-the-ground approach and love for all things preps. It takes a special human being to stick around on the high school beat for as long as Mike did; I can only hope to do it justice. Mark Maloney, who aided in our high school coverage as well as many other events, has retired too, making the transition all the more exciting/terrifying!

Part of doing it the job justice involves re-examining what works best and what doesn't work so much in the digital world. Moving forward Kentucky.com will become an even more integral part of how we approach athletics coverage at the Herald-Leader.