Severe Plantar Fasciits - Anyone Had it?

cooperstown

I have been battling this God-awful condition on and off for several years, but non-stop since November. It's been horrible - I have tried every treatment out there - anti-inflammation pills, steroid packs, cortisones shots, several 3-4 week periods in a hard boot, night splint boot, taping my foot, two sets of custom orthotics, various therapies (rolling foot on tennis ball/frozen water bottle), stretching exercises, special shoes, limiting all running, icing it all the time etc... I was told by one doctor I needed a serious nerve surgery, but another doctor said the first was crazy and that the nerve operation was dangerous and unnecessary. He did say I'd likely need the plantar fasciitis surgery if it didn't start to improve. Well it hasn't - it hurts every day, all day long. It basically consumes my thoughts all day. I am going to a pain clinic to see if they can at least get me through to November/December, when I'd be in more of a mental state to have the surgery.

Anyone dealt with this freakin' injury and have any suggestions for me? Not too many things in life have bothered me as bad as this injury - meeting Clyde was also painful and a nightmare, I guess - but this one is worse. I sure I don't know what I'd do if some expert told me there was no cure and I'd have to live the rest of my life this way. It hurts like a b.... day in and day out. Someone give me some hope . . . . .

Had it several years ago. Two things helped.

I stopped walking to work in cheap shoes (started wearing Rockports - not the most expensive shoes in the world, but they did the trick). I also bought those cheap inserts with the little "magnets" in them.

That combination worked for me. Went from dreading getting out of bed and having my foot hit the floor to pain-free.