Coaching Style

IM4THEHOUNDS

Is verbal abuse and public humiliation of players the best way to coach? Tony Dungy won a super bowl and has coached many other teams successfully. His players respond well to his "Quiet Strength" as he coaches. I am appalled at the coaches who cuss, verbally abuse and humiliate players thinking that this is motivation. A player will jump hurdles if they respect you. If they don't because of poor treatment they will shut down and perform below their potential. As a classroom teacher I would lose my job if I treated my students the way some coaches do. Why the double standard? I am not talking about raising your voice to get a point across either . . . I am talking total berating and humiliation. IMO this is reprehensible and should be stopped. :madman:

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Is verbal abuse and public humiliation of players the best way to coach?
I think this is a loaded question. No one is going to say that verbal ABUSE or HUMILIATION is appropriate. However some may argue where the line of being demanding vs abuse exist. Also, people don't react to the same thing. The truth is every player probably needs to be coached in a different way to get the most out of them. For some, it is by yelling and intimiadation, for others these tactics will not motivate. I think the problem some coaches get into is that they only go with one style and it may not be the best for everyone.