The Dumbest Rule in Middle School Basketball - is it the same for High School???

Your press works perfectly. The kid is trapped in the corner right at mid court, he's about to panic and throw a terrible cross court pass. He can't think straight and....Time out. The coach was able to call it from the bench? Why is this a rule? It takes away a great defensive play and is a HUGE offensive advantage. Does high school have this stupid rule as well?

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Your press works perfectly. The kid is trapped in the corner right at mid court, he's about to panic and throw a terrible cross court pass. He can't think straight and....Time out. The coach was able to call it from the bench? Why is this a rule? It takes away a great defensive play and is a HUGE offensive advantage. Does high school have this stupid rule as well?

Happens ALL the time. As a coach, I'm glad I can call the timeout from the bench. And yes works the same way in high school.

I fail to see why this rule is dumb. Timeouts are a part of the game no matter rather its NBA or elementary.

Timeouts should come from the players on the field. That is my opinion. If a kid is smart enough to grab possession and call timeout while fighting for a loose ball that is fine. I don't like giving a kid an out when he puts himself in a bad position unless he calls the timeout himself. That's the point of pressure defense.

Timeouts should come from the players on the field. That is my opinion. If a kid is smart enough to grab possession and call timeout while fighting for a loose ball that is fine. I don't like giving a kid an out when he puts himself in a bad position unless he calls the timeout himself. That's the point of pressure defense.

So, the play clock is winding down in a football game, gets down to one second and offense is still scrambling to get set...coach shouldn't be able to call a time out?