Sean Duffy abortion argument

I would be lying if I said this didn't get me thinking a little bit about this issue. What does everybody think?

This is my first time posting a video. Hope it posted correctly!

Love it. Love the argument. Love the way he used the words of his own body. Persuasive.

I will freely admit I am not fully educated on abortion laws. Does the Constitution allow for abortions all the way up to the day before birth?

No constitution has references to the subject that I am aware of. Laws are created by legislators. Constitutions are the domain of the people and not changed by basic law making.

So we agree the Constitution has been interpreted to allow for abortions.

States can set their own guidelines then, correct?

So we agree the Constitution has been interpreted to allow for abortions.

Well, Roe v. Wade did away with out-right bans. It likely struck down lots of state laws there were outright bans. States where bans were legally overturned probably have had to patch-work back in restrictions that are not outright bans. And hence - the battleground, wedge issue or as I view it- the 3rd rail of American politics.

I think that most Constitutions were written prior to the availability of the procedure so they should not have direct legal reference - pro or con. And most state constitutions are usually fairly static. But some states may have done amendments since the procedure came available.

Yes and No.

Yes

There are currently 42 states that have some kind of law on the books regarding late-term abortions, meaning that under certain circumstances (often times natural child-labor) it is no longer legal for an abortion to be performed.

• There are 18 states that have outright bans on abortion past a certain stage of pregnancy...which is generally accepted to be 22 weeks after the mother's last menstruation.
  • There are 3 states that ban abortion in the third trimester.