Anybody remember when Lincoln Institute won the Eighth Region tourney in 1960?

Well, I remember it! I was a 12-year-old student at Simpsonville Elementary, and now I'm a writer researching a book on the first black basketball teams to play in the Sweet Sixteen. I'd love to hear your memories of teams like Dunbar, Hopkinsville Attucks, Covington Grant, Louisville Central and those early teams who made the transition during desegregation. Join me!

Well, I remember it! I was a 12-year-old student at Simpsonville Elementary, and now I'm a writer researching a book on the first black basketball teams to play in the Sweet Sixteen. I'd love to hear your memories of teams like Dunbar, Hopkinsville Attucks, Covington Grant, Louisville Central and those early teams who made the transition during desegregation. Join me!

Never heard of the Lincoln Institute but sounds interesting.

No. I'm old, but not old enough to have used chisels and stone tablets in penmanship class.

Welcome to the site!:thumb:

Welcome to the site JWMilz. Great topic and would love to hear more about some of these teams. I'm a little familiar with the Tom Thacker led Covington Grant squads since I'm a NKY resident. Tom Thacker - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Tom Thacker trivia....... He is the only player to have played on an NCAA championship team, an ABA championship team, and an NBA championship team.

BTW I wasn't even a thought in 1960. :lol2:

Sounds like a great topic, definitely one I am interested in!

I'm no where near being old enough to remember Lincoln Institute, but living in Shelby County, I am familiar with it. It was located just west of Simpsonville along US 60 in between Simpsonville and the Jefferson County line. It now houses the Whitney M. Young Job Corps Center.

Here are a few links for more info on Lincoln Institute for those that are not familiar with it.

Lincoln Institute (Kentucky) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Lincoln Institute Alumni Website - HOME