Bracken County Needs Coach?

BigRed48

I posted a topic in the middle of the season questioning whether Bracken County should fold up their tents and drop the football program.

While it is not a popular POV, I believe BC should call it quits.

BC should have followed the same pattern as Pendleton County. Establish your feeder program, play an independent schedule, and work your way up to district play.

IMO BC is so far behind the curve that they will never recover.

You have to give Bracken County a little more credit than that...I graduated from there in 2000, the next year they started a middle school team, then a JV team and now varsity. Sure they are getting beat pretty badly by their opponents, but you have to start somewhere. I think one thing that would help them is to schedule teams that are closer to their level of competition. Every program starts somewhere, and I'm sure some of the great programs today started out slow. You can't just start a program and then junk it just because you haven't had success yet...look at Lex Cath...they are a bigger school, yet when they started, their program struggled as well...This coaching position will be an opportunity for a coach to come in to a young program and put his mark on it...Bracken wants to win, and with the right personnel, they will.

They don't need to get rid of football, but they need to call other teams that have struggled a little and schedule some of them. AKA Bourbon Co., Berea, Nicholas Co., etc. They may not beat them, but they will compete. There district schedule is brutal and they need some confidence early in the season.

I posted a topic in the middle of the season questioning whether Bracken County should fold up their tents and drop the football program.

While it is not a popular POV, I believe BC should call it quits.

BC should have followed the same pattern as Pendleton County. Establish your feeder program, play an independent schedule, and work your way up to district play.