BGP Q&A with Shawnee Football Coach Robert Fleming

As part of a series of interviews that BluegrassPreps.com is conducting in 2018 with coaches around the Commonwealth, BGP had a chance to catch up with Robert Fleming, the new head football coach of the 2A Shawnee Golden Eagles.

BGP: Tell us a little about your coaching background - which schools you've been at as a head coach or as an assistant before you started at Shawnee? Which positions have you had personal experience coaching?

Coach Fleming: Football has always been a passion of mine. Prior to arriving at Shawnee 3 years ago, I was an assistant coach at Meyzeek Middle [Louisville] for 4 years as the offensive and defensive line coach. I have always really connected with the “Big Nasties” up front, the defensive and offensive linemen!

BGP: What was it that made you realize you wanted to be a coach? It's obviously not as easy a job to do in this day and age as it may have been in the past. Are there any particular individuals or coaches who pushed you to realize that it's what you wanted to do?