Costco or Sam's Club?

MJAlltheWay24

Which Do You Prefer?  

16 members have voted

1. 1. Which Do You Prefer?

• Costco
    • Sam's Club
    • Neither

I feel like I grew up with Sam's Club because my mom always shopped there.  I'm new to Costco and have only been twice, just getting back from my second trip.

What's the difference?  They seem identical to me.  Including the layout and even the font on the pricing signs.

Which do you prefer?

After years at Sams we switched when Costco opened 5 years ago.  Costco has better meat overall and better middle to upper end prepared foods. 

Kirkland brand products are typically as good if not better than name brand items.

Sams used to excel at concession style items, but that no longer have any interest to me. 

Costco is great for gas if you pass there often, I do.

The 2% cash back has paid for itself every year but 1.

I have never missed Sams since we switched.

5 hours ago, nkypete said:

The drive to Florence through traffic never made sense to me for value (either store).  I'll keep taking my chances with the local options.

I am with you. Convenience is more important to me.

-----------------------

I have never looked closely at either Sam's or Costco. I have been in Sam's a couple times in my life and Costco once that I recall. It seemed like you needed to buy a lot of bulk stuff to achieve savings but that is obviously a very limited view from me. Why should I drive 10 miles to shop at either of these two versus my neighborhood Kroger or WalMart?

14 hours ago, Sheldon said:

After years at Sams we switched when Costco opened 5 years ago.  Costco has better meat overall and better middle to upper end prepared foods. 

Kirkland brand products are typically as good if not better than name brand items.

I went to Costco yesterday and loaded up on meat.  The freezer was getting bare.

• Like 1