Did the Kentucky Enquirer just give up?

Shiloh

I have been asking myself this questin for a few years now. When NKY had both the Post and the Enquirer, the Post out did the Enquirer in prep coverage. In my opinion the only time the Enquirer had good prep coverage was on Sundays, when the Post did not publish a paper. Now with the Post kaput for how many years now, you would think the Enquirer would improve its coverage. Instead it seems they have almost gotten even mor lax on their coverage on both sides of the river. Newark fan is the reason for this thread, asking for prep previews, hopefully no one wasted their time and money or his time in sending him the Enquirer's prep preview. It seems the Enquirer is putting as little money,time, and effort behind prep sports in our region.

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

When all I see online (which is the way they are going anyway) is 2 stories (CovCath/Campbell County & Highlands/Boyle County) on the first week of the season it makes me sick. Terry Boehmker and the Post were the absolute best in covering NKY and even parts of North Central KY. Personally, it should have been the Post that stayed and the Enquirer gone. Even in the NKY edition, they force the Cincinnati scores and stories. Same online. Really useless.

The ship was sinking well before Ryan Ernst skipped town. Bring back that guy with the camcorder and the microphone attached. It's a shame high school sports coverage has dwindled so much.

I agree the papers coverage of HS has dwindled dramatically over the years, but over all coverage is up. You can find blogs, tweets, Facebook, web sites, on line reports, etc. We know more about a team or kids now then we ever did.