Let's discuss travel ball!

:scared:

Ok. So i'm new at all this and would like to learn about AAU and travel ball. We have been in AAU basketball...wasn't really impressed with our particular league, but did like the extra practice and playing time.

We have a sophmore pitcher (now) that just finished her third year of HS ball. Last year she was out due to injury most of the season. She has decided to pare it down to one sport now...softball.

What are the pros and cons? What realistic chance does she have of making a team as a pitcher and how do you find out about teams/tryouts?

Are you better off just taking private lessons in the off season?

Lots of questions.....

What are her goals after HS? If she wants to play in college a travel ball team would be her best bet. If she just wants to have the best HS possible lessons would work.

Cons for me are, I won't have a true free weekend till November and of course the money.

Pros for me are it is a whole lot of fun your kid is getting better by facing better compeition. I get to spend a lot more time with my daughter than I would if she didn't play.

I think the pros and cons are different for each family.

If you have a desire to play college sports you have to play aau. Baseball, softball and basketball rarely watch high school games. College coaches have told me they want to evaluate players when they are playing against players of similar talent. High school players can pad their stats against below average competition. A player in baseball may bat 500 and hit several home runs against pitchers throwing 70 mph, if he goes 0 for 6 against the two pitchers he faces that throws 90 mph, he may not be a college prospect. AAU allows you the opportunity to compete against the best.