Is buying a "hybrid" vehicle the way to go?

letabrotherspeak

Curious. I like my SUV and more and more companies are starting to roll out hybrid SUV's, but I really don't know that much about hybrids.

I am probably going to be in the market for one within the next two years.

Advantages?

Disadvantages?

I'm not an expert on Hybrids by any means. I've also been looking into buying one.

It seems the major complaint with them is the life of the batteries and the high costs to replace them.

I am still driving my first car and I am going to be wanting a new one here in the next couple of years. I haven't really gotten to the point where I am looking yet, like I am sure you too are. But, I am trying to convince myself that the next car I am going to own will by a hybrid.

From some of the things I have read, ethanol is not all that it is cracked up to be.

Subsidizing farmers in some markets is ridiculous...whole other tangent.

Ethanol is not nearly as efficient as regular gas.

If you filled your tank up with E-85 gas...the amount of corn that companies use to produce one full tank, can be used to feed one person an entire year.

Use of corn for ethanol is driving corn products up like crazy.

I believe that the cost of a purchasing, maintaining a hybrid would be very high. I don't know. I haven't been shopping for any vehicle lately. Also, as with anything it seems to me that whenever something new (or fairly new) comes out that there are always some problems with it. What I mean is I may look at a hybrid later and let the factory get the problems worked out. I am not in the market for another vehicle right now, I am just not so sure on the hybrid thing.

I guess if were all that worried about Al "Green Global" Gore I would rush out and buy one :D.