True blue (and gold) Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 At the tip, a player from Team A tips the ball. It bounces and he grabs it. Obviously, he can't do that, so Team B gets possession. Who gets the next alternate possession?
True blue (and gold) Posted February 9, 2008 Author Posted February 9, 2008 I agree. I was told that it is a turnover on Team A. I argued that it couldn't be a turnover, because Team A did not get possession, as the tipper cannot gain direct possession of the ball, unless someone else touches it first.
Mustang Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 Team A - It would be a violation and not a turnover.
True blue (and gold) Posted February 9, 2008 Author Posted February 9, 2008 It seems very simple to me, too, but that is not the way that it went down.
madman Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 At the tip, a player from Team A tips the ball. It bounces and he grabs it. Obviously, he can't do that, so Team B gets possession. Who gets the next alternate possession? Let me make sure I understand your scenerio. Jumper A tips the ball and it bounces to the floor and then he grabs it and gains possession. If that is the scenerio, the play is legal. Rule 4-28-3 states: The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the referee's hand and ends when the touched ball contacts a nonjumper, the floor,a basket or the backboard. Therefore, Jumper A can grab it and gain possession. NO VIOLATION. The next jump ball will go to Team B.
JBCousins Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 Let me make sure I understand your scenerio. Jumper A tips the ball and it bounces to the floor and then he grabs it and gains possession. If that is the scenerio, the play is legal. Rule 4-28-3 states: The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the referee's hand and ends when the touched ball contacts a nonjumper, the floor,a basket or the backboard. Therefore, Jumper A can grab it and gain possession. NO VIOLATION. The next jump ball will go to Team B. If one of the jumpers touches it and then it hits the floor, it's a live ball. Was there another violation called against the guy who got the ball (travel or over and back)? That would be possession by jumper A, turnover, and Team B would get the ball AND have the arrow.
madman Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 If one of the jumpers touches it and then it hits the floor, it's a live ball. Was there another violation called against the guy who got the ball (travel or over and back)? That would be possession by jumper A, turnover, and Team B would get the ball AND have the arrow. That's exactly what I said in my post. Jumper A can get the ball once it hits the floor after the tap. NO VIOLATION.
UKCATSFAN Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 At the tip, a player from Team A tips the ball. It bounces and he grabs it. Obviously, he can't do that, so Team B gets possession. Who gets the next alternate possession? That is a LEGAL play. Once the ball hits the ground anyone can grab it. Team A has the ball with a live possession and the possession arrow is set towards Team B. (NFHS Rule 4-28-3)
UKCATSFAN Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 I have a good one for you all........ See if you know this one....... Possession arrow points toward Team A. Team A #1 has possession of the ball when Team B #2 ties him up and the official indicates a "jumpball". After the official's call Team A #1 shoves Team B #2 and is assessed a technical foul for his actions. Ok, Team A is rewarded 2 FT's and a throw-in, BUT...... Who will have the possession arrow? The jumpball was called before the technical was issued. Will the arrow stay with Team A or be switched to Team B? Why?
OL' TROJAN Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 I have a good one for you all........ See if you know this one....... Possession arrow points toward Team A. Team A #1 has possession of the ball when Team B #2 ties him up and the official indicates a "jumpball". After the official's call Team A #1 shoves Team B #2 and is assessed a technical foul for his actions. Ok, Team A is rewarded 2 FT's and a throw-in, BUT...... Who will have the possession arrow? The jumpball was called before the technical was issued. Will the arrow stay with Team A or be switched to Team B? Why? Two Technical freethrows for Team A and the ball out of bounds at the division line. The technical occured after the jump ball so overules the jump ball. Arrow stays with team A.
scheat40 Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 On a jump ball when can you touch the ball? Can you tap the ball on the way up or have to wait until the top of arc.:sssh:
cshs81 Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 I have a good one for you all........ See if you know this one....... Possession arrow points toward Team A. Team A #1 has possession of the ball when Team B #2 ties him up and the official indicates a "jumpball". After the official's call Team A #1 shoves Team B #2 and is assessed a technical foul for his actions. Ok, Team A is rewarded 2 FT's and a throw-in, BUT...... Who will have the possession arrow? The jumpball was called before the technical was issued. Will the arrow stay with Team A or be switched to Team B? Why? I'm a bit confused by your wording. First you say Team is called for the T then you say Team A is awarded 2 FTs. I assume you mean the T was on A and B gets the FTs. If so, the FTs will be shot by B and then B takes the ball out midcourt opposite the table. The arrow is still in A's favor. I don't think a foul negates the arrow.
OL' TROJAN Posted February 9, 2008 Posted February 9, 2008 Two Technical freethrows for Team A and the ball out of bounds at the division line. The technical occured after the jump ball so overules the jump ball. Arrow stays with team A. OOPS. Did not read it through...Team B shoots the freethrows and the ball out at the division line.
Recommended Posts