True blue (and gold) Posted January 20, 2008 Posted January 20, 2008 Player from team A gets fouled (shooting foul). Before he shoots free throws, he is assessed a technical foul. This is his fifth foul. What happens next?
madman Posted January 20, 2008 Posted January 20, 2008 Straight out of the Rule Book (4.14.1): A1 is disqualified as both personal and technical fouls are counted. Because A1 has been disqualified, he will not be allowed to attempt the free throws resulting from B1's foul. The substitute for A1 will shoot the free throws.
True blue (and gold) Posted January 20, 2008 Author Posted January 20, 2008 That's what I thought. That is NOT what happened.
cshs81 Posted January 20, 2008 Posted January 20, 2008 That's what I thought. That is NOT what happened. What did happen? My guess is they let the guy shoot thinking that since he was fouled before he was T'd that he should shoot the FTs then sit. Close?
saint4 Posted January 20, 2008 Posted January 20, 2008 That's what I thought. That is NOT what happened. Did they say that the just offset each other and the other team got the ball because of the T?
True blue (and gold) Posted January 20, 2008 Author Posted January 20, 2008 No. He shot the freethrows before leaving the game. Then a player from the other team shot the technicals and that team got the ball. It did not determine the outcome of the game, but was just indicative of the poor officiating during the entire game.
tkkrcats Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Straight out of the Rule Book (4.14.1): A1 is disqualified as both personal and technical fouls are counted. Because A1 has been disqualified, he will not be allowed to attempt the free throws resulting from B1's foul. The substitute for A1 will shoot the free throws. Could you expand on this? My first thought, and I am by no means a bball rules guy, would be that he would shot the foul shots because it occurred before he was assessed the technical. After he shots the free throws he then is disqualified.
madman Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Could you expand on this? My first thought, and I am by no means a bball rules guy, would be that he would shot the foul shots because it occurred before he was assessed the technical. After he shots the free throws he then is disqualified. I can't expand on it. That's straight out of the rule. Worded pretty simply and to the point.
JBCousins Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Technicals are shot immediately and the game resumes. The 2 technical FTs should have been shot and the game resume with the player's substitute shooting the FTs for the foul.
TubbyCAT Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Reiterates how poor the officiating in this state has become!
cshs81 Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Technicals are shot immediately and the game resumes. The 2 technical FTs should have been shot and the game resume with the player's substitute shooting the FTs for the foul. In high school, you shoot the FTs in the order of the fouls. So, in this case, the sub for the disqualified player would shoot the FTs. The other team would then shoot the technical foul shots and then take the ball out at midcourt.
royal1 Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Reiterates how poor the officiating in this state has become! Was the ref's name either Bo Queen or Hudson? Sounds like something these bozos would do. :laugh: Sorry, I just couldn't resist!
madman Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 In high school, you shoot the FTs in the order of the fouls. So, in this case, the sub for the disqualified player would shoot the FTs. The other team would then shoot the technical foul shots and then take the ball out at midcourt. Absolutely correct. You go in the order of sequence.
JBCousins Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 In high school, you shoot the FTs in the order of the fouls. So, in this case, the sub for the disqualified player would shoot the FTs. The other team would then shoot the technical foul shots and then take the ball out at midcourt. You're correct....getting my levels mixed up.
Recommended Posts