Coachg13207 Posted May 11, 2007 Posted May 11, 2007 Runner on 3rd ,full count on batter ,2 outs .The runner on 3 rd takes off while pitcher in a slow full wind-up .the runner slides across the plate then the ball crosses over him and is called strike 3 Does the run count ?
KIDS FAN Posted May 11, 2007 Posted May 11, 2007 Run does not count. The play started with the windup and is based on the completion of that delivery. If he doesn't deliver the pitch then it is a balk and run scores. ?????
bulldog77 Posted May 11, 2007 Posted May 11, 2007 Run does not count. The play started with the windup and is based on the completion of that delivery. If he doesn't deliver the pitch then it is a balk and run scores. ????? You are correct. All plays made are subject to the completion of the at-bat. Just as if the ball is grounded and a defensive play made yet the runner from third scores before the "out" is made at first. No run, batter out, end of inning.
Play 2 Win Posted May 11, 2007 Posted May 11, 2007 An easy way to understand this would be...the kid slides across home plate and the pitcher beans the batter..dead ball, runner returns to third.
hector Posted May 11, 2007 Posted May 11, 2007 What would happen if the pitch hit the runner while he was on the plate that otherwise would have been a strike if it didn't hit him?
Play 2 Win Posted May 12, 2007 Posted May 12, 2007 If it hit him while he was in th strike zone its a strike dead ball, runner returns to 3rd. Just like if a batter is leaning across the plate and gets hit, that also is a strike, dead ball.
Coachg13207 Posted May 13, 2007 Author Posted May 13, 2007 This happened in the All A state tourney . A semifinal game and it was ruled as the run counts .
Bwood Posted May 13, 2007 Posted May 13, 2007 I saw that down at the "All A", awesome play to tack on another run.
cshs81 Posted May 13, 2007 Posted May 13, 2007 This happened in the All A state tourney . A semifinal game and it was ruled as the run counts . That would appear to be the correct call. Check out 5.09h . Ball is dead. Runners advance.
cshs81 Posted May 13, 2007 Posted May 13, 2007 If it hit him while he was in th strike zone its a strike dead ball, runner returns to 3rd. . Not true. 5.09h says that any legal pitch that hits a runner trying to score is a dead ball and "runners advance." 6.05 says that if there are two strikes and two outs, the resulting strikeout would negate the run. No mention ever of runners returning.
Coachg13207 Posted May 13, 2007 Author Posted May 13, 2007 The ball never hit the runner This is correct .The ball never hit the runner
cshs81 Posted May 13, 2007 Posted May 13, 2007 The ball never hit the runner It did in Hector's scenario. What would happen if the pitch hit the runner while he was on the plate that otherwise would have been a strike if it didn't hit him?
cshs81 Posted May 13, 2007 Posted May 13, 2007 The ball never hit the runner If it was a strike and did not hit the runner and there are two outs and two strikes, the call is Strike 3 , inning over, no run since the batter never reached first safely.
Recommended Posts