AverageJoesGym Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 I saw this situation in a middle school game this week. However, the refs figured it out before the shot occured and moved to the other end of the gym so no free throws were made. Here's the situation: Team A's coach is called for a technical foul shortly after halftime. Team B designates their free throw shooter. The ref with the ball is standing Team A's goal and calls for Team B's shooter and hands him the ball. Team B's shooter hits both free throws in the wrong basket. Team B goes to throw the ball in and everyone realizes that the free throws were made in the wrong basket. Do they pretend that the free throws were shot at the proper basket and just ignore the mix up? Do they have to shoot them again? In the game Monday the ref realized he was at the wrong basket about the time that he handed the ball to the shooter and asked for it back so no shots were attempted.
Randy Parker Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 I say you let the free throws count & just go from there.
Clyde Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 I saw this situation in a middle school game this week. However, the refs figured it out before the shot occured and moved to the other end of the gym so no free throws were made. Here's the situation: Team A's coach is called for a technical foul shortly after halftime. Team B designates their free throw shooter. The ref with the ball is standing Team A's goal and calls for Team B's shooter and hands him the ball. Team B's shooter hits both free throws in the wrong basket. Team B goes to throw the ball in and everyone realizes that the free throws were made in the wrong basket. Do they pretend that the free throws were shot at the proper basket and just ignore the mix up? Do they have to shoot them again? In the game Monday the ref realized he was at the wrong basket about the time that he handed the ball to the shooter and asked for it back so no shots were attempted. If referee directs the shooter to that basket the shots would count. It's just like if the refs allow the players to line up going the wrong way on a tip. Everything that happens subsequently counts and they simply correct the error.
AverageJoesGym Posted December 19, 2013 Author Posted December 19, 2013 If referee directs the shooter to that basket the shots would count. It's just like if the refs allow the players to line up going the wrong way on a tip. Everything that happens subsequently counts and they simply correct the error. That's pretty much what I thought but I hadn't ever seen that situation come up before. Thanks.
Just Jim Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 Okay, I've got a question on rules/stats and figured I'd just ask here. Player has already used up his dribble. Starts to go up for 3pt (any) shot and loses control going up. Grabs the ball after moving both feet. Shoots and makes his shot. Goal counted in this game. So is this a walk? If not, is it 2 fg att, 1 off. rebound and 1 made basket?
Clyde Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 If referee directs the shooter to that basket the shots would count. It's just like if the refs allow the players to line up going the wrong way on a tip. Everything that happens subsequently counts and they simply correct the error. Update: Got a note from an official saying that this falls under the "correctable errors" portion of the rulebook. If noticed immediately the shots WOULD have to be taken again at the correct basket.
Clyde Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 Okay, I've got a question on rules/stats and figured I'd just ask here. Player has already used up his dribble. Starts to go up for 3pt (any) shot and loses control going up. Grabs the ball after moving both feet. Shoots and makes his shot. Goal counted in this game. So is this a walk? If not, is it 2 fg att, 1 off. rebound and 1 made basket? I'm not clear. Was he in the air when he lost control? Did the defender hitting the ball cause him to lose control? Did he regain control before or after coming back to the ground?
Clyde Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 Here is a link to correctable errors. It has to be the most misunderstood rule. http://phillyref.com/articles/basketball/correctableerrors.html
Just Jim Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 I'm not clear. Was he in the air when he lost control? No Did the defender hitting the ball cause him to lose control? Defender didn't touch the ball, kinda started to go up and ball came out of his hands while feet were on the ground. Did he regain control before or after coming back to the ground? Ball went about 4 feet over his head, shooter moves both feet and catches the ball with both feet on the ground about 3 feet away. .....
Clyde Posted December 20, 2013 Posted December 20, 2013 ..... That's a fumble. The player is allowed to retrieve the fumble. Since he has already finished his dribble his options after retrieving the ball are to pass or shoot. So, it's just one shot attempt.
madman Posted December 20, 2013 Posted December 20, 2013 Update: Got a note from an official saying that this falls under the "correctable errors" portion of the rulebook. If noticed immediately the shots WOULD have to be taken again at the correct basket. 2.10.4 in the rules book
Clyde Posted December 20, 2013 Posted December 20, 2013 2.10.4 in the rules book I'm out of town so I winged it. Haven't looked at my rulebook in a few years since I hung up the whistle. It's one of the more fascinating rules. Ex: A1 gets fouled. Table says it's the 6th foul. Team A throws the ball in for a layup. Horn blows. Oops. Table says it was the 7th foul. BY RULE: Bucket counts. Team A now gets to shoot the bonus as well.
Recommended Posts