Cards15 Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 If a team is taking the ball out of bounds and another team player jumps behind the out of bounds line then the ball is passed to him then he throws it in... Isn't that legal??? Thanks
silo11 Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 I believe if I understand you, its legal only when the opposing team just scored.
Clyde Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 I believe if I understand you, its legal only when the opposing team just scored. Correct.
Clyde Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 Easy to remember - if it's a SPOT throw-in you can't have two offensive players OOB at the same time. CCH tried this tonight against Moeller on a spot throw and, after a brief hesitation, the officials realized it was a violation.
Cards15 Posted December 14, 2016 Author Posted December 14, 2016 The other team had just scored . A time out was called . After the timeout is when the out of bounds play occurred . Refs after huddling determined it was illegal
THE SHERIFF Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 Which team called timeout? If the inbounding team called timeout, resuming play it would then be a spot throw in. This would not allow the inbounder to pass to a teammate who is standing out of bounds.
Clyde Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 The other team had just scored . A time out was called . After the timeout is when the out of bounds play occurred . Refs after huddling determined it was illegal Which team called timeout? If the inbounding team called timeout, resuming play it would then be a spot throw in. This would not allow the inbounder to pass to a teammate who is standing out of bounds. You do not lose the right to run the baseline after a timeout.
maysvilleky Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 You do not lose the right to run the baseline after a timeout. Unless the ball was inbounded prior to the TO being called. Then it would be a spot throw in. The refs may have also determined the 2nd person did not establish himself out of bounds before catching the ball. Just like a person jumping in bounds has to establish themselves before taking the pass.
sweet16 Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 You do not lose the right to run the baseline after a timeout. Correct. This is when most teams draw this type of play up is during a timeout.
Clyde Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 Unless the ball was inbounded prior to the TO being called. Then it would be a spot throw in. . Correct.
THE SHERIFF Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 You do not lose the right to run the baseline after a timeout. Thanks Clyde, I stand corrected. Where can I read this rule online?
Clyde Posted December 14, 2016 Posted December 14, 2016 Thanks Clyde, I stand corrected. Where can I read this rule online? http://assets.ngin.com/attachments/document/0082/1767/2014-15_Basketball_Rule_Book.pdf It lists when you have a designated spot throw-in.
Recommended Posts