AverageJoesGym Posted October 31, 2007 Posted October 31, 2007 On a PAT is the kicker fair game after a try is blocked or does a defender still have to attempt to avoid unnecessary contact?
offside Posted October 31, 2007 Posted October 31, 2007 On a PAT is the kicker fair game after a try is blocked or does a defender still have to attempt to avoid unnecessary contact? Roughing the kicker rules apply whether the kick is blocked or not.
HHSDad Posted October 31, 2007 Posted October 31, 2007 Roughing the kicker rules apply whether the kick is blocked or not. My reading of 9-4-5 says it may not be a roughing the kicker penalty. This is a rule that requires a lot of judgement on behalf of the referees. Touching of the kicked ball by a player does open the door for subsequent contact with the kicker to be ruled legal when such contact with the kicker when the ball is not touched would always be considered running into or roughing, but the touching of the kicked ball does not mean that all subsequent contact with the kicker is legal.
SKINPIG Posted November 1, 2007 Posted November 1, 2007 Anyone else have an opinion? A defensive player shall neither run into the kicker nor holder, which is contact that displaces the kicker or holder without roughing; nor block, tackle or charge into the kicker of a scrimmage kick, or the place-kick holder, other than when; A. Contact is unavoidable because it is not reasonably certain that a kick will be made. B. The defense touches the kick near the kicker and contact is unavoidable. It's sort of a judgement call by the official after a kick has been touched by a defensive player as to weather or not the contact was avoidable.
AverageJoesGym Posted November 1, 2007 Author Posted November 1, 2007 A defensive player shall neither run into the kicker nor holder, which is contact that displaces the kicker or holder without roughing; nor block, tackle or charge into the kicker of a scrimmage kick, or the place-kick holder, other than when; A. Contact is unavoidable because it is not reasonably certain that a kick will be made. B. The defense touches the kick near the kicker and contact is unavoidable. It's sort of a judgement call by the official after a kick has been touched by a defensive player as to weather or not the contact was avoidable. Thanks, that's what I thought the rule was. It came up in the Meece/Corbin 8th Grade Conference Title Game the other night. A Corbin player blocked a PAT but didn't pull up and took a couple of extra steps and drilled the kicker. I thought it was the correct call but I also wonder if since it happened after the kick was blocked should it have been assessed on the kickoff? In this case they marked off half the distance to the goal and did the PAT over.
SKINPIG Posted November 1, 2007 Posted November 1, 2007 Thanks, that's what I thought the rule was. It came up in the Meece/Corbin 8th Grade Conference Title Game the other night. A Corbin player blocked a PAT but didn't pull up and took a couple of extra steps and drilled the kicker. I thought it was the correct call but I also wonder if since it happened after the kick was blocked should it have been assessed on the kickoff? In this case they marked off half the distance to the goal and did the PAT over. Roughing the kicker is 15 yards from the previous spot and automatic first down. The best I can tell from reading up on it, the kicking team has a choice. 1. Take the penalty and retry the PAT, half the distance to the goal. 2. Accept the missed try and take the penalty on the kickoff. I'm not 100% sure on this, maybe someone can add some insight.
offside Posted November 2, 2007 Posted November 2, 2007 Roughing the kicker is 15 yards from the previous spot and automatic first down. The best I can tell from reading up on it, the kicking team has a choice. 1. Take the penalty and retry the PAT, half the distance to the goal. 2. Accept the missed try and take the penalty on the kickoff. I'm not 100% sure on this, maybe someone can add some insight. Rule 8-3-5...If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of: a. Accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement; or b. Accepting the result of the play and enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot. Rule 8-3-6...If during an unsuccessful try, a foul by b occurs, the down is replayed after enforcement.
oldjarhead Posted November 2, 2007 Posted November 2, 2007 Dose anyone know the rule for players crossing county lines to play at a school
SKINPIG Posted November 2, 2007 Posted November 2, 2007 Rule 8-3-5...If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of: a. Accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement; or b. Accepting the result of the play and enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot. Rule 8-3-6...If during an unsuccessful try, a foul by b occurs, the down is replayed after enforcement. Thanks offside. "I see" said the blind man. I read a little in the Case Book and interpreted a sentence wrong. Imagine that.:creepy:
AverageJoesGym Posted November 2, 2007 Author Posted November 2, 2007 Rule 8-3-5...If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of: a. Accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement; or b. Accepting the result of the play and enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot. Rule 8-3-6...If during an unsuccessful try, a foul by b occurs, the down is replayed after enforcement. Thanks, it sounds like the crew made the right call. It seemed to upset the Corbin fans but it sounds correct.
Recommended Posts