Balance: Good vs. Bad

ChiefSmoke

I've read enough about the evils of football. I agree all efforts should be made to protect kids. It is personal for me because two concussions ended football for my son. When the doc said he was done, he was done. But, he is glad he played and that experience has had a tremendous impact on the man he is and is becoming. His little brother will play as well.

I did want to share this. For me, the positives far outweigh the negatives that go with HS football.

A coach I know received this text today:

Earlier today, I lost a childhood friend to drugs. He died at 31 years old. We always hung out growing up, but when I started playing football, I did not have time to hang out with him; and I also knew that the stuff he was into was stuff you would run me for. Fear of you at first, and later respect for the program, kept me from doing the same things. Thank you for being my anti drug.

I am not going to apologize for coaching HS football and encouraging every young man I know to play. We need to be more vocal about the positives that kids get from the experience.

Although the game of football is a dangerous risk you take, it can also save your life. There are a few guys I still think about from high school to kids I have coached lately, wondering what they're doing right now because they hung up the pads and started running with the wrong crowd.