jessepinkman Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 I have been told by referees that TEs are not allowed to cut because they are outside of the tackle box. Is this the interpretation others have heard?
2 Humped Camel Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 Yes, the box is from tackl to tackle, so anytime a TE were to cut, by definition it would be an illegal block.
katbird Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 When I was watching Monday Night Football last night they said if the tackle is pulling then the TE is allowed to cut? I had never heard that before? :idunno:
Commander 25 Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 When I was watching Monday Night Football last night they said if the tackle is pulling then the TE is allowed to cut? I had never heard that before? :idunno: That is something to do with the NFL.
Legacy12 Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 TE's can cut if they are in the Box, so a foot to foot Double Wing team would be able to cut with their TE's.
2 Humped Camel Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 He's correct, I just looked it up it is not tackle to tackle it is defined as an area 4 yards wide to either side of the ball and 3 yards behind each line of scrimmage. Both players cutter and cuttee have to be inside the free blocking zone and lined up on the LOS.
Ram Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 He's correct, I just looked it up it is not tackle to tackle it is defined as an area 4 yards wide to either side of the ball and 3 yards behind each line of scrimmage. Both players cutter and cuttee have to be inside the free blocking zone and lined up on the LOS. And, the cut block has to happen "Immediately" after the snap.
Ram Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 Does'nt the ball still have to be in the zone That's why the cut block has to happen "Immediately". With the thinking that if it happens immediately the ball is still in the Free Blocking Zone.
Bluegrasscard Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 And, the cut block has to happen "Immediately" after the snap. I thought it would be as long as 'tackle box' is 'intact' and before it 'disintegrates' - i.e. when the ball is no longer in the box. But it a shotgun that does mean it has to be 'immediate'. Another thing is I though it can only be done on those on the line, in a down stance and inside the tackle box at the snap. I see LBs who are not on the line or standing up cutting cut from time to time. Finally it works both ways - the defense can cut as well at the snap. Its a technique for those that favor having their linebackers make the plays. So the d-line will cut the offensive line to keep them from blocking the LBs. In any case, its probably a rule that is confusing to refs - especially relatively new refs due to the nuances. Maybe one of the most difficult things to officiate with consistency and accuracy.
rookie57 Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 Does Not have to be IMEDIATE, as long as the ball is in the FREE BLOCKING ZONE it is legal for lineman who are on the line of scrimmage at the snap to cut lineman who were on the line of scrimmage at the snap. FREE zone disappears when the ball leaves the zone, as In a shotgun snap, so that pretty much has to be immediate, but in a direct to QB SNAP , if the QB DOESNT leave the zone immediately, then the free zone is still in effect.
Ram Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 Camel outlined it pretty well, both the blocker and blockee has to be in the Free Blocking Zone which extends four yards to either side of the ball and three yards behind/infront of the ball and the ball has to be in the free blocking zone. If the ball leaves the Free Blocking Zone, the cut block is not allowed, even in a shot gun snap it is considered legal if the cut happens immediately. There is no designation of stance, a standing LB on the LOS is eligible to be cut, and an OL in a two point stance can cut, immediately after the snap if the snap is from a shot gun formation. But, all parties have to start at the snap in the Free Blocking Zone.
I4C Posted October 7, 2014 Posted October 7, 2014 Once a D-lineman is engaged with a O-lineman another O-lineman can not cut the D-lineman.
Recommended Posts