Jump to content

Tkinslow

Premium Members
  • Content Count

    648
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Posts posted by Tkinslow


  1. On 5/18/2021 at 4:21 PM, snakesnot_2000 said:

    I agree it doesn't mean State Championships but every once in a while I believe they would have a bunch that would win a State title in football and especially basketball.

    I don’t see that at all especially since Christian Co has really struggled as of late I would see a merger forming a team similar to Henderson, Daviess or McCracken good teams but certainly not competition for the Louisville schools.


  2. 5 hours ago, nkypete said:

    Not sure what you mean by that.  Glasgow has an amazing program and reputation.

    I’m assuming you were a player or coach and was proud of the accomplishment of winning a championship as well you should be. However in my post I was referring to a accomplishment by Glasgow of getting to 600 wins I just used that game as a reference and it seemed like to me that you were taking a shot at the Glasgow program for losing the championship. If you weren’t I apologize sometimes it’s hard to catch a person’s meaning in a post.

    • Like 1

  3. 8 hours ago, Purple88 said:

    I hope it sticks too!  I just can't help but think about the logistics for it though.

    Below is a post I made some time ago when Crittenden County and Paintsville tried to hook up during the Pandemic and I think this game would have similar logistical hurdles, but good luck to both teams and I feel for the bus driver:

    AGAIN THIS IS FROM A FORMER PAINTSVILLE VS CRITTENDEN COUNTY THREAD JUST TO SHOW WHAT LOGISTICAL HURDLES THEY FACED:

    "During the Covid-19 Pandemic, no less.  I applaud challenging your program, but I'm not sure this particular game at this particular time is wise.

     

    I was trying to get my head around the Rockets timeline for this one.  Pardon the length, but it became fascinating to me, as follows:

    - Crittenden County is in the Central Time Zone.  So a 6 pm EST game is 5 pm local time.

    - @ATLCat is absolutely correct in that it's 5.5 hours haulin butt between these 2 cities.  So I am estimating 6 hours to drive it and a 1 hour break.  So 7 hours in travel time!  WOW!  I can get to Atlanta (barring traffic) from Louisville in 6.5.  I can get to Chicago in under 5; heck I can get to Pittsburg in about 6.5!

    I'm estimating you'd like to get to the field about 2 hours in advance: an hour to acclimate, find out where the bathrooms are and dress for the game and an hour to warm up.  So that means you need to arrive in Paintsville at 4 pm EST (3 pm CST).

    So with a 7 hour travel time and to make Paintsville by 4 pm, you need to be rolling in the bus from Marion at 9 am EST (8 am CST).  You are going to have to prep/load the bus etc.  So I am estimating coaches arrive 2 hours in advance or 7 am EST (6 am CST) with players arriving (ready to go - right) at 8 am (7 am local)!  I'm already tired...

    I am estimating the game to take 2.5 hours to complete.  I think both teams run the ball quite a bit so think this is fair.  Agree?  So this would have the game ending about 8:30 pm EST (7:30 pm CST).  I would think you would need about an hour to get all equipment and players ready to roll back to Marion around 9:30 pm EST (8:30 pm CST).

    Now another 7 hour travel period has you rolling back into Marion at 4:30 am EST (3:30 am CST).  Wow!

    Again, I appreciate the effort to challenge and grow your program, but I am surprised this one is still going to happen this strange year.  Best of luck to both teams!

    And my goodness, safe travels Rockets!!!"

    Yeah I agree that’s a little ridiculous but I think there are ways around it. The first is not to schedule games like this. The second is meet somewhere in a neutral location I’m sure if you played the game on a Saturday there would be somewhere in the middle that some high school would be willing to let you use their stadium. Again I just hate to see games canceled after they’ve been scheduled. I would rather see the game not scheduled at all rather than cancelled after the schedule has been finalized.


  4. On 1/29/2021 at 7:11 AM, Purple88 said:

    Totally agree!  I also find the Jenkins game quite fascinating.  I love logistical hurdles, but this likely 5+ hour one-way commute on a Friday Night just doesn't seem to add up for 2 teams that are not powerhouses.  Will be interesting to see if that game sticks.  I would say it will not.

    I hope it sticks, before last year you didn’t see many games canceled so I’m hoping last year didn’t set a precedent of teams canceling games just because they don’t want to make the trip.


  5. I would say they can compete with about everyone except maybe WV. This is how you should schedule when you are struggling I know it makes for some potential long drives but I think I would rather travel two hours and play a competitive game than travel thirty minutes and get smoked. I think it does more for your team.


  6. I think all public schools have up and down seasons even the great ones. Mayfield is probably one of the more consistent public schools but you go back 20 years or so and they had some down seasons ( by their standards) that seems to be the nature of the beast.


  7. On 4/4/2021 at 9:47 AM, tackle trap said:

    Disagree. Football: Hoptown has been to the state championship three times winning two. Late 90’s early 2000’s were an elite team. Gave Boyle county all they wanted and could have easily won couple of those games. Still playing good football here recently. Christian County has been to the state championship 4 times wining two. They are the only school outside Louisville to win the title in the biggest classification more than once (4A at that time). Not long ago they were one of the elites n WKY. 
    Basketball: Both Hoptown and County have won state championships and have made multiple appearances in the state title games. 
    Baseball: County has won a state championship and had a run where they were one of the better teams n the state.

    Wrestling: Great history here. Both programs have won state championships and many individual championships. Christian is still one of the elites in the state and should keep getting better. 

    Softball: Christian is one of the better programs in state history with multiple state championships.
     

     
     

    I’m talking about only football, yes lots of teams compete in other sports but in football no one is going to dominate the three Louisville schools it’s just not going to happen.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using the site you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use Policies.