Pendleton County 74 Montgomery Co 70 OT

Page 5 of Thanks Sumo for the info, glad to see I wasn't losing my mind. I was keeping track and I knew it was his fifth, but when it was all said and done, it d... 90 comments | 3267 Views | Go to page 1 →

  1. #61

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by Xs and Os View Post
    I support the scorekeeper, and it sounds like he supports the fact that there were 5 fouls on Prewitt. My question was this a correctable error and if so doesn't have to be corrected by the end of the next possession.
    It does not fall under "correctable errors."
    Advertisement

  2. #62

    Join Date
    Mar 05
    Posts
    2,346

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Why was this bad? The ref didn't change anything. He saw an illegal screen on #45 and reported it. When they charged the 5th to Prewitt the officials asked them if they truly had 5. They were told he had 5. So when the coach from MC asked who they called the illegal screen on what was he supposed to say? He called it on 45.

    Book made a mistake. It was corrected.
    Clyde the ref didn't call a foul on 45, if you read Sumo's post. He called a push off on 4 which is what the official scorer wrote in his book. I saw the play and it was called on 4 not 45. Play resumed and they played a long time before his 5th was called. He went out of the game and they played a while longer and then at a dead ball questioned the call at that time. The official scorer had it right.

  3. #63

    Join Date
    Dec 08
    Posts
    127

    Heard from an official today who saw tape of the play. According to what he saw on tape, Prewitt #4 was whistled for a push off foul, which would have been his 5th foul. The official scorer was correct. One thing that would have made this an absolute mess - the officials agreed this was a correctable error, however, according the the rulebook it is not a correctable error.

  4. #64

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by sumoroyal View Post
    Thanks for the kind words. Nobody hates a mistake worse than myself but just not sure where the mistake was made or if there was one. At the score table you always have players and coaches in your line of site and it makes it tougher to get the officials calls.
    Quote Originally Posted by sumoroyal View Post
    Yes, this is also true that we had a hard time reading the officials and getting the fouls calls. We had a few problems during the game.
    Quote Originally Posted by FreeAgent007 View Post
    Heard from an official today who saw tape of the play. According to what he saw on tape, Prewitt #4 was whistled for a push off foul, which would have been his 5th foul. The official scorer was correct. One thing that would have made this an absolute mess - the officials agreed this was a correctable error, however, according the the rulebook it is not a correctable error.
    Here's where I'm having problems reconciling this. We have the official scorer twice saying that he had trouble seeing who fouls were called on and yet he knows on this particular play that he was 100% right? It's not possible that this was one of those times he had trouble? Can we go to the tape?

  5. #65

    Join Date
    Mar 05
    Posts
    2,346

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Here's where I'm having problems reconciling this. We have the official scorer twice saying that he had trouble seeing who fouls were called on and yet he knows on this particular play that he was 100% right? It's not possible that this was one of those times he had trouble? Can we go to the tape?
    The foul in question happened right in front of the scorers table almost. The ref was standing right there on that side of the floor at midcourt. What screwed everything up was that the scoreboard had up 45 as the player on that foul and that was wrong.

  6. #66

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by mcraycraft View Post
    This is what happened on Prewitt's foul. When the foul was called everyone had Prewitt with his fourth foul EXCEPT the official scorer. The #4 with 4 fouls even came up on the scoreboard. Prewitt is removed. At the next break (not for sure how much time) asst. Coach Fawns questioned the ref about a prior foul. The ref said the foul was on #45. They proceeded to the scorer to question who he marked with the foul and he had marked #4 instead of #45. The refs met a midcourt, discussed the call, called the coaches to midcourt and corrected the mistake and Prewitt went back in the game.
    Quote Originally Posted by mcraycraft View Post
    At Mason, the official book is at the scorers table with the PA announcer, clock operator, Mason stats (for 10th tourney), and Mason radio. They set up another table in the bleachers behind the official table that had the Pendleton County scorekeeper, Montgomery County scorekeeper, us (Montgomery County stats), and any other radio that broadcasts the games. We were letting him know he had the fouls wrong, but it fell on deaf ears. Pendleton County's Coach even looked at his scorekeeper (sitting 2 seats away from me) and ask if Prewitt had 5 fouls and she shook her head No and raised 4 fingers. At least the refs corrected the mistake once it was questioned about a previous call.
    Quote Originally Posted by Touch The Line View Post
    Every other stat keeper had Prewitt for 4 except the Mason County bookkeeper and the MC coaches did bring this to the attention of the refs when they called Prewitt for his 5th but as you said the complaints fell of deaf ears. Not sure how 3 Regional officials can let continue on in the game and not at least talk about it and figure it out when there is a difference in the fouls at hand. I know its the official book that counts, but at that time of the game and the importance of that player to the game, I thought the refs did not handle the situation correctly.
    Quote Originally Posted by mcraycraft View Post
    Not everyone. This group did not have it as his 5th foul: Mt. Sterling radio, Montgomery offical scorer, Montgomery County stat crew, AND PENDELTON COUNTY SCORER. I witnessed the Pendleton coach ask her if it was 4 or 5 and she told him 4. He then shrugged his shoulders.
    So we have the Montgomery County stat guy who sits at or behind the table along with his cohorts all saying something different than the official scorekeeper and the officials.

  7. #67

    Join Date
    Dec 08
    Location
    Mt. Sterling
    Posts
    2,557

    Suggestion. Put the official scorer at main table. Put visiting scorer on his right, put home scorer on his left. Move all radio to the table behind the score table. There is room for PA announcer, 3 scorers, and clock operator. Last night they had 6 chairs at the table so there is plenty of room. I just think it was odd that the official scorer had five fouls and the two teams scorers had four fouls. Game is over and looking forward to next year.

  8. #68

    Join Date
    Mar 05
    Posts
    2,346

    Quote Originally Posted by mcraycraft View Post
    Suggestion. Put the official scorer at main table. Put visiting scorer on his right, put home scorer on his left. Move all radio to the table behind the score table. There is room for PA announcer, 3 scorers, and clock operator. Last night they had 6 chairs at the table so there is plenty of room. I just think it was odd that the official scorer had five fouls and the two teams scorers had four fouls. Game is over and looking forward to next year.
    Did you at any time during the game get who was called for a foul from the scoreboard?

  9. #69

    Join Date
    Dec 08
    Location
    Mt. Sterling
    Posts
    2,557

    Quote Originally Posted by Milfordflash View Post
    Did you at any time during the game get who was called for a foul from the scoreboard?
    No I didn't! Since I am the eyes for the computer operator, I do everything I can possibly do to make sure the stats that are given to Coach G are accurate. I am not perfect but I take pride in what I do. I just think a mistake was made and that us it. Game is over. Pendleton moves on and Montgomery looks forward. This one play did not cost Montgomery County the game.

  10. #70

    Join Date
    Feb 09
    Posts
    1,047

    BUT what if Montgomery had won.

  11. #71

    Join Date
    Dec 08
    Location
    Mt. Sterling
    Posts
    2,557

    Quote Originally Posted by All Blue View Post
    BUT what if Montgomery had won.
    What if. That game can be played all night long.

  12. #72
    HOOPDR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 07
    Posts
    797

    Yes Monroe was sick the slippage occured when they watered down the towel to keep him cool during the game. Like during the game he hit the basket not the floor twice. He chucked the first time after nailing the NBA range three pointer.

  13. #73

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by HOOPDR View Post
    Yes Monroe was sick the slippage occured when they watered down the towel to keep him cool during the game. Like during the game he hit the basket not the floor twice. He chucked the first time after nailing the NBA range three pointer.
    Uh, what?

  14. #74
    HOOPDR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 07
    Posts
    797

    Sorry answering post # 60....Yes Monroe was sick a couple times during the game.

    I liked one reporters quote on Prewit....He had 25 points and 1 resurrection.

  15. #75

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by HOOPDR View Post
    Sorry answering post # 60....Yes Monroe was sick a couple times during the game.

    I liked one reporters quote on Prewit....He had 25 points and 1 resurrection.
    That is funny.

Top