Arizona 70 Texas 69

Page 4 of Originally Posted by HammerTime ^ He only traveled after the ref blew the whistle. He was complaining about the call. Well in that case....... 52 comments | 1538 Views | Go to page 1 →

  1. #46

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by HammerTime View Post
    ^ He only traveled after the ref blew the whistle. He was complaining about the call.
    Well in that case....
    Advertisement

  2. #47

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    While we have discussed the rule about calling a TO after 4 seconds the official who made the call didn't claim that as his reason. He said he got to 5. I would have to question that one. Looked like he just hit 4 and went right to the "5" signal.

  3. #48

    Join Date
    Feb 10
    Location
    a contest
    Posts
    3,931

    Texas should apply for membership to the Big East...

  4. #49
    HammerTime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 05
    Location
    "Most great people have attained their greatest success just one step beyond their greatest failure." - Napoleon Hill
    Posts
    72,259

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    While we have discussed the rule about calling a TO after 4 seconds the official who made the call didn't claim that as his reason. He said he got to 5. I would have to question that one. Looked like he just hit 4 and went right to the "5" signal.
    It was pretty clear the kid called a timeout before he got to 5.

  5. #50
    Randy Parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 08
    Location
    In the snow, laying there like a slug
    Posts
    70,214

    Texas, Pittsburgh, Vanderbilt, Notre Dame, Gonzaga, Purdue, & perhaps Syracuse comprise the teams you should be shot for picking to go too far in the NCAA's.

  6. #51

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Here is a much better video of the backcourt violation call. The guy doing it does a nice job of showing rulebook language.

    Note: He is not fully correct when he says that the part of the rule that says both feet and the ball must be over. That ONLY applies to a dribbler.

    The rest is correct and it was clearly a blown call.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsQoNkIZ3Lw

  7. #52

    Join Date
    Jan 08
    Posts
    9,045

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Here is a much better video of the backcourt violation call. The guy doing it does a nice job of showing rulebook language.

    Note: He is not fully correct when he says that the part of the rule that says both feet and the ball must be over. That ONLY applies to a dribbler.

    The rest is correct and it was clearly a blown call.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsQoNkIZ3Lw

    Thanks for the video. It shows that not only was it a blown call, but the player clearly wasn't aware of the rule either. Have the refs or their bosses addressed this anywhere that you've seen?

  8. #53

    Join Date
    Nov 04
    Location
    5 Miles from nowhere
    Posts
    20,629

    Quote Originally Posted by bugatti View Post
    I had them in my Final Four like three straight years recently, but I have learned my lesson. I had Arizona ousting them.
    I picked Oakland.

    Regardless of the count, whether it was 5 or not, or the rules, as a player, I would be calling TO after 3. I wouldn't take the chance.

    I don't blame Rick Barnes though.

Top