Arizona 70 Texas 69

Page 2 of Originally Posted by HammerTime ^ He only traveled after the ref blew the whistle. He was complaining about the call. Well in that case....... 52 comments | 1537 Views | Go to page 1 →

  1. #16

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by bugatti View Post
    Then why do they say that al the time?
    Who is "they?"
    Advertisement

  2. #17

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Go here to page 95 to see when TOs can NOT be granted.

    http://www.ncaapublications.com/prod...loads/BR11.pdf

  3. #18
    bugatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 02
    Location
    You can keep going and your legs might hurt for a week or you can quit and your mind will hurt for a lifetime. - Mark Allen
    Posts
    42,907

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Who is "they?"
    I hear it from analysts all the time. They just made mention of it in the post-game studio show as well.

  4. #19
    bugatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 02
    Location
    You can keep going and your legs might hurt for a week or you can quit and your mind will hurt for a lifetime. - Mark Allen
    Posts
    42,907

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Go here to page 95 to see when TOs can NOT be granted.

    http://www.ncaapublications.com/prod...loads/BR11.pdf
    Is it an unwritten rule? Must be. I have heard it multiple times.

  5. #20

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by bugatti View Post
    I hear it from analysts all the time. They just made mention of it in the post-game studio show as well.
    If you do not study the rulebook on a regular basis it's difficult to know the intricacies of the rulebook especially as it changes. Heck, not all officials know the rulebook well enough. So to expect an analyst, coach, writer, fan, or player to know the rules intimately is not realistic. The best analyst I've heard when it comes to knowing the real rulebook is Jay Bilas.

  6. #21

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by bugatti View Post
    Is it an unwritten rule? Must be. I have heard it multiple times.
    If you ever hear it from an official ask him to point it out in the rulebook.

  7. #22
    bugatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 02
    Location
    You can keep going and your legs might hurt for a week or you can quit and your mind will hurt for a lifetime. - Mark Allen
    Posts
    42,907

    I have never understood why it would be a rule. Looks like you need to put on a seminar for the NCAA officials. : D

  8. #23

    Join Date
    Jan 08
    Posts
    9,045

    Why did the Texas player call a TO after getting the rebound with the lead?

    He called for a TO well before 5 seconds IMO

    The shooter got fouled and the rebounder was fouled before time expired but they weren't that bad and I understand why they weren't called.

  9. #24

    Join Date
    Oct 06
    Location
    Winchester
    Posts
    2,917

    Quote Originally Posted by SSC View Post
    Why did the Texas player call a TO after getting the rebound with the lead?

    He called for a TO well before 5 seconds IMO

    The shooter got fouled and the rebounder was fouled before time expired but they weren't that bad and I understand why they weren't called.
    I just didn't see a foul with time on the clock...

  10. #25

    Join Date
    Oct 07
    Location
    Anywhere and everywhere is the residence for Mr. Cats.
    Posts
    12,708

    What? I turned this game off and went back to working on my TPA thinking Texas had won. Rick Barnes is bad IMO. He wastes more talent each season than most coaches see in a decade.

  11. #26

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by bugatti View Post
    I hear it from analysts all the time. They just made mention of it in the post-game studio show as well.
    Gametime is going to be crushed when a "girls JV ref" knew this but a "national guy" didn't.

  12. #27

    Join Date
    Jan 08
    Posts
    9,045

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Gametime is going to be crushed when a "girls JV ref" knew this but a "national guy" didn't.
    Ken Pomeroy tweeted that the refs blew the over and back call in the Syracuse game. Did you see the play? Was the call correct?

  13. #28

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by SSC View Post
    Ken Pomeroy tweeted that the refs blew the over and back call in the Syracuse game. Did you see the play? Was the call correct?
    Nope. Didn't watch it. What happened?

  14. #29

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,216

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Nope. Didn't watch it. What happened?
    Read his tweet that said it was on a throw-in situation. The backcourt(over and back) violation cannot occur on a throw-in or a jump ball. However, if the throw-in was tipped by a defender first then the normal rules apply.

  15. #30

    Join Date
    Jan 08
    Posts
    9,045

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Read his tweet that said it was on a throw-in situation. The backcourt(over and back) violation cannot occur on a throw-in or a jump ball. However, if the throw-in was tipped by a defender first then the normal rules apply.
    I don't think it was tipped. The throw was close to the line and as the player caught the ball he had one foot touch the line. I don't know the rule.

Top