BGP Q&A with Franklin-Simpson Football Coach Doug Preston

As part of a series of interviews that BluegrassPreps.com is conducting in 2018 with coaches around the Commonwealth, BGP had a chance to catch up with Doug Preston, head football coach of the 4A Franklin-Simpson Wildcats.

BGP: Tell us a little about your coaching background - which schools you've been at as a head coach or as an assistant before you started at Franklin-Simpson? Which positions have you had personal experience coaching?

Coach Preston: I am a graduate of EKU. I’ve been all over. Some of the key stops in my teaching and coaching career have been working for Roy Kidd at EKU, Ray Graham at Harrison County, Marty Jaggers at Lincoln County and Sam Harp at Danville. Franklin-Simpson is the most satisfying place I have ever worked. There is a strong tradition and many people that care deeply for football here. The amount of effort our players and the community put into having a class football program is really amazing, humbling and exciting all at the same time. I have had the honor of coaching many kids here over the years that are children of former players and or grandchildren of former players. I am a football ‘junkie’ and have coached every position on the football field at one time or another. I have called offense and defense. The process of developing a team and program is what I really enjoy.

BGP: What was it that made you realize you wanted to be a coach? It's obviously not as easy a job to do in this day and age as it may have been in the past. Are there any particular individuals or coaches who pushed you to realize that it's what you wanted to do?