Advice on Football Camps

I have no knowledge about this sort of thing. So I'd like some advice about a good track to take for a player who will be a junior in the 2017 season and has aspirations of playing in college--a small college not D1. His main position in High School is LB. He has also played RB at every level he's played.

I have a flyer to the Union College and Collegiate Sports Data football combine on May 20. I am guessing that camp is to record some measurables and get his information out there.

If this player were your son, what would you do from here? What camp(s) would you attend this year? Many of you have been or are going down this road. I'd appreciate it if you would share what you have learned.

Your best bet would be anything at the local colleges. Their coaches will be there, so that's a great exposure for them.

The big national and regional travelling camps are one of two things. Either a money grab and sham, or something for the elite, high level recruits. If your child isn't elite and you aren't interested in wasting your money, stay with small colleges.

Your best bet would be anything at the local colleges. Their coaches will be there, so that's a great exposure for them.

The big national and regional travelling camps are one of two things. Either a money grab and sham, or something for the elite, high level recruits. If your child isn't elite and you aren't interested in wasting your money, stay with small colleges.

Nailed it

Typically the only camps that get much stock put in them are Nike, Rivals, Under Armour, Army All-American, and NUC. NUC is a step below the others but still pretty reputable...but outside of those the odds are strong that it is nothing more than a money grab with very little chance of true collegiate exposure.

FBU is good for younger kids not yet in High School.