Matt Barnes Ejected For Throwing A Strike To Manny Machado

  1. #1
    AverageJoesGym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 05
    Location
    Where are we going? And why am I in this handbasket?
    Posts
    15,727

    Matt Barnes Ejected For Throwing A Strike To Manny Machado

    Bizarre sequence from the Boston-Baltimore game today. To set the stage: On Friday Manny Machado slid late and with his cleats high into second base. Dustin Pedroia was stretched out to receive the throw from shortstop with really no intention of trying to turn the double play and Machado struck him in his knee that he had repaired in the off-season. Pedroia had to leave the game and has missed the last 2 games as well. Red Sox manager John Farrell was upset with the slide and argued that a double play should have been awarded. The umpiring crew did not allow the double play since Pedroia was in a stretch and made no effort to make a turn. Everyone expected Boston to retaliate--especially given the already volatile relationship between the Sox and the Birds. Yesterday Boston had knuckleballer Steve Wright going and was locked in a close game so nothing happened. Today, however, Boston had a 6-0 lead. Boston started Eduardo Rodriguez appeared to throw at Machado's knees 2 or 3 times earlier in the game but did not hit him. When he came to bat in the 8th inning Boston reliever Matt Barnes launched a fastball up near Machado's head/shoulders. The ball zoomed past him and ended up going behind him and hitting his bat. The home plate umpire, Andy Fletcher, believing the pitch had hit Machado, immediately tossed Barnes and awarded Machado first base. John Farrell came out to argue the ejection and award of first base. The ejection stood but Machado was returned to home plate where he later doubled. I don't think I've ever seen a pitcher ejected after throwing a strike before. I understood why they did it and it had to be done but it was bizarre nonetheless. It is going to be a very interesting season series between these 2 clubs--they have 14 games remaining.
    Advertisement

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,237

    The slide from Machado was legal which is why the DP wasn't called Friday. He did slide a tad late. In the old days it was "good hard baseball."

  3. #3
    AverageJoesGym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 05
    Location
    Where are we going? And why am I in this handbasket?
    Posts
    15,727

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    The slide from Machado was legal which is why the DP wasn't called Friday. He did slide a tad late. In the old days it was "good hard baseball."
    The umpiring crew explained the the DP wasn't called due to the fact that Pedroia was in a stretch position and not attempting to turn a double play--which I agree with. It was however, a really late slide and he did come in with his cleats high. It was unnecessary given that he didn't need to break up a double play. To his credit, he did reach out to Pedroia after the game to let him know that he hoped he was okay.

  4. #4
    plantmanky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 08
    Location
    In the Garden
    Posts
    17,115

    It must be some conspiracy behind it because you cant find video of either event anywhere.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,237

    Quote Originally Posted by plantmanky View Post
    It must be some conspiracy behind it because you cant find video of either event anywhere.
    Slide:

    deadspin-quote-carrot-aligned-w-bgr-2

    Retaliation:

    Red Sox reliever Matt Barnes ejected after pitch nearly hits head of Orioles' Manny Machado - Baltimore Sun

  6. #6
    plantmanky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 08
    Location
    In the Garden
    Posts
    17,115

    He went in high with his leg no question, but I dont think a DP should have been awarded. he wasnt going to turn two anyways, the throw was bad to 2nd base.

  7. #7
    CincySportsFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 08
    Posts
    5,870

    Title is a more than a little misleading, in my opinion. When you talk about someone throwing strikes, you're usually referencing throwing them over the plate. I know that technically this will go in the book as a strike, but come on...throwing behind the batter's head?

  8. #8
    AverageJoesGym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 05
    Location
    Where are we going? And why am I in this handbasket?
    Posts
    15,727

    Quote Originally Posted by CincySportsFan View Post
    Title is a more than a little misleading, in my opinion. When you talk about someone throwing strikes, you're usually referencing throwing them over the plate. I know that technically this will go in the book as a strike, but come on...throwing behind the batter's head?
    But it was, in fact, a strike. I don't think I've ever seen a pitcher tossed after a pitch that ended up being called a strike before.

  9. #9
    sweet16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    The real WKY
    Posts
    19,840

    Quote Originally Posted by AverageJoesGym View Post
    But it was, in fact, a strike. I don't think I've ever seen a pitcher tossed after a pitch that ended up being called a strike before.
    It wasn't a called strike

  10. #10
    AverageJoesGym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 05
    Location
    Where are we going? And why am I in this handbasket?
    Posts
    15,727

    Quote Originally Posted by sweet16 View Post
    It wasn't a called strike
    When he returned to the box it was with an 0-1 count. It was a strike.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,237

    I screwed up a play like this once. Pitch was inside coming at the head of the batter. He ducked. Ball hit his bat. I immediately signal "foul ball" in order to let every one know it didn't hit him.

    Problem is the darn ball rolled fair.

  12. #12
    sweet16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    The real WKY
    Posts
    19,840

    Quote Originally Posted by AverageJoesGym View Post
    When he returned to the box it was with an 0-1 count. It was a strike.
    Yes, it was a foul so it was a strike.

  13. #13
    spindoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 05
    Location
    It's the most wonderful time of the year
    Posts
    55,390

    I don't understand why it's so hard to plant one in between a guys shoulder blades. If you're gonna plunk him, make it nearly impossible to get out of the way. It's not that hard to avoid one at your noodle. Getting your numbers out of the way is difficult.

  14. #14
    CincySportsFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 08
    Posts
    5,870

    Quote Originally Posted by AverageJoesGym View Post
    But it was, in fact, a strike. I don't think I've ever seen a pitcher tossed after a pitch that ended up being called a strike before.
    I realize that. That's why I said "technically". But, you can hit the bat 10 times out of 10 if you want to...you throw it up by the head all 10 times, it still doesn't mean you're throwing strikes to me.

  15. #15
    TheDeuce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 04
    Location
    The Heisman House
    Posts
    45,680

    Quote Originally Posted by AverageJoesGym View Post
    But it was, in fact, a strike. I don't think I've ever seen a pitcher tossed after a pitch that ended up being called a strike before.
    It wasn't called a strike. There's a difference between a foul ball resulting in a strike (what this was) and a called strike.

Top