Rules Question

  1. #1
    Pete W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 02
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,904

    Rules Question

    If the ball is fumbled by the offense on a 2pt conversion in the final minute of a game at the 1 yard line, and the ball goes into the endzone and is recovered by a different offensive player then the one who fumbled is it 2 pts or 0 pts?

    I'm used to NFL rules and in this situation it would be no points, if it were say 2nd down instead of a PAT then the ball would be spotted at the point of the fumble (1 yardline) and it would be 3rd down (unless a first down was gained).
    This only applies in the final 2 minutes of the first half and final 5 minutes of the game.

    In arena football this applies throughout the game on 3rd or 4th down and and on any down in the final minute of each half.

    In both cases if the same player who fumbled recovers then the ball is advanced to the point of recovery and any points are awarded normally.

    Does high school have any rules like the 2 & 5 NFL rule??

    The reason I ask this is this is exactly what happened to Beth Haven in the National 8-man football tourney (in Tenn) on Tuesday night. Beth Haven was ahead by 6 and the other team scores to tie the game with less than 2 minutes remaining. They go for 2 (apparently noone kicks in 8-man) and the runner fumbles on the 1, the ball goes into the endzone and another offensive player recovers and 2 pts are awarded. The Beth Haven coaches argued to no avail and then they drove down to the 20 and ran out of time.
    Beth Haven went undefeated in the regular season and won their league before going to this tourney. they play again Friday in a consolation game.
    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Offcentre67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 03
    Location
    In one of the original centres of football power in the US
    Posts
    345

    In Kentucky high school football, if the ball is fumbled say at the 6 yard line or even the 1 and is recovered by another offensive player in the endzone, it is a touchdown. I would imagine it would be the same if the team would be going for a 2 pt. conversion.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 04
    Posts
    589

    That's correct, 2 points.

    offside

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 02
    Posts
    32,704

    So if you're going down short of the goal line you had better do a "Pete Banaszak".

  5. #5
    RNCSportsaholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 05
    Posts
    1,783

    Quote Originally Posted by cshs81
    So if you're going down short of the goal line you had better do a "Pete Banaszak".
    Very true because you have nothing to lose. The defense can not return the ball if its on a PAT.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 05
    Posts
    184

    Hey CSHS, I'd totaly forgotten about the Banaszak play. How time flies! It WAS great. I'm a Raider fan from along time ago.

  7. #7
    Hey-Ref's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 01
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    643

    If the ball is truely fumbled forward and recovered by a member of the same team in the endzone it is a TD, because possession of the ball in your opponent's endzone is always a TD.

    However, if someone intentionally fumbles the ball forward it is a pass, and could be an illegal pass under certain circumstances or an incomplete pass if it is not caught. If the pass (intentional fumble) occurs beyond the neutral zone, or behind the neutral to avoid a loss, or if it is not the first forward pass, it is a foul.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jun 02
    Posts
    32,704

    Quote Originally Posted by Hey-Ref
    If the ball is truely fumbled forward and recovered by a member of the same team in the endzone it is a TD, because possession of the ball in your opponent's endzone is always a TD.

    However, if someone intentionally fumbles the ball forward it is a pass, and could be an illegal pass under certain circumstances or an incomplete pass if it is not caught. If the pass (intentional fumble) occurs beyond the neutral zone, or behind the neutral to avoid a loss, or if it is not the first forward pass, it is a foul.

    It is a judgment call, correct? If so, the offensive player coming up short on a 2-point conversion has zero to lose in an intentional fumble. Its just a matter of how well he disguises it.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 04
    Location
    Retired From BGP
    Posts
    6,680

    Quote Originally Posted by cshs81
    It is a judgment call, correct? If so, the offensive player coming up short on a 2-point conversion has zero to lose in an intentional fumble. Its just a matter of how well he disguises it.
    That's what I was thinking, I wonder if someone will try this anytime soon.

Top