Rules Question

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 14
    Location
    Franklin
    Posts
    1,572

    Rules Question

    Last night Madisonville scored a touchdown as time expired in the first half. However there was a block in the back penalty called on the Maroons on the play. FS obviously accepted the penalty and Madisonville, although they had committed the penalty, was awarded an untimed down in which they kicked a field goal. I know that the pro rule is that the half is only extended by a defensive penalty while an offensive penalty ends the half. Is the high school rule different?
    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Voice of Reason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 08
    Location
    N. KY.
    Posts
    31,781

    I am not an official but I believe the refs messed that up. Madisonville should not have been awarded another play and the half should have ended on the penalized play. No additional play or field goal attempt on an untimed down.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 14
    Location
    Franklin
    Posts
    1,572

    I just looked it up on a couple of websites and apparently the rule is different in high school. The officials were right to give Madisonville the untimed down. First time I had seen that in a high school game.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 16
    Posts
    1,134

    From what I was told by my ref buddy that was correct. Either they can decline the penalty and accept the results or accept the penalty and replay the down

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 08
    Posts
    429

    That is correct. You cannot end a quarter on an accepted penalty.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 13
    Location
    Bowling Green KY
    Posts
    3,921

    Quote Originally Posted by FSfan View Post
    Last night Madisonville scored a touchdown as time expired in the first half. However there was a block in the back penalty called on the Maroons on the play. FS obviously accepted the penalty and Madisonville, although they had committed the penalty, was awarded an untimed down in which they kicked a field goal. I know that the pro rule is that the half is only extended by a defensive penalty while an offensive penalty ends the half. Is the high school rule different?
    It was an offensive penalty. Normally the half would have ended. However the result was a TD. If FS has declined the penalty the result is a TD. Since they accepted the penalty to keep the TD off the board then you have one untuned down.

Top