Pass Interference: Yes or No?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 01
    Posts
    37,659

    Pass Interference: Yes or No?

    Is this pass interference: Yes or No?

    This was a controversial play in last night's Belfry/Boyle game. I didn't want to post this in the game thread.

    https://www.facebook.com/becky.mount...337902868/?t=0
    Advertisement

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 10
    Location
    Wherever I want to be
    Posts
    9,165

    I can't really see the ball as well as I'd like, so I can't say.

  3. #3
    Voice of Reason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 08
    Location
    N. KY.
    Posts
    31,810

    I don't see how any ref could call pass interference on that play. I watched it more than a half dozen times and I can't see pass interference. It looks like the defender and the ball arrive at the same time and the defender is playing the ball.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 17
    Posts
    167

    No pass interference. Defender has head and eyes clearly on the ball. He makes a play on the ball and has as much right to the ball in the air as the receiver. From what I can see from this video.

  5. #5
    theguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 00
    Location
    Florence
    Posts
    148,578

    Looks like a bang bang play to me and it should be a Touchdown.

  6. #6
    Jack Lambert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    1,041

    The answer is yes, I was sitting about 10 yds from this play the DB went thru the receiver to get to the ball.

  7. #7
    Jack Lambert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    1,041

    Quote Originally Posted by CAL FAN View Post
    No pass interference. Defender has head and eyes clearly on the ball. He makes a play on the ball and has as much right to the ball in the air as the receiver. From what I can see from this video.
    Yes the defender has a right to the ball, but you can’t go thru the receiver to get to the ball his right hand was in Smith’s back pushing him out of the way, and that’s something you can’t see in this video.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 13
    Location
    Bowling Green KY
    Posts
    3,921

    The answer is yes the defender places his hand on the receiver before the ball was there. Keep in mind high school rules are tighter than college and pro rules. If the defender touches the receiver before the ball is there the refs are going to call it. I don’t like the rule and it’s not consistently called in high school depends on which set of refs you get. IE Sky conference refs call it tighter than Western Kentucky Refs.

  9. #9
    Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 02
    Location
    Titletown USA
    Posts
    7,318

    Personally I canít see how anyone can tell from this video. As soon as the ball is released the video zooms and twitches up.

  10. #10
    Jack Lambert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    1,041

    Quote Originally Posted by jcarter View Post
    The answer is yes the defender places his hand on the receiver before the ball was there. Keep in mind high school rules are tighter than college and pro rules. If the defender touches the receiver before the ball is there the refs are going to call it. I don’t like the rule and it’s not consistently called in high school depends on which set of refs you get. IE Sky conference refs call it tighter than Western Kentucky Refs.
    That’s exactly what happened and the side judge was about 4 yds from the play.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Oct 01
    Posts
    37,659

    Here is a slow motion version. A little fuzzy, but gives a different look.

    Facebook

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 17
    Posts
    167

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Lambert View Post
    Yes the defender has a right to the ball, but you can’t go thru the receiver to get to the ball his right hand was in Smith’s back pushing him out of the way, and that’s something you can’t see in this video.
    If your playing the ball, you can get away with murder on every level. Most of the time. Ball should have never been thrown. If the quarterback makes that decision we’re not having this discussion.

  13. #13
    ATLCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 11
    Posts
    11,639

    This would be a Pick 6 on every level.

    The defender played it perfectly and should be rewarded.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 17
    Posts
    167

    What was the call on the field?

  15. #15
    Voice of Reason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 08
    Location
    N. KY.
    Posts
    31,810

    The defender had inside position. He didn't drive through the receiver to get to the ball. I think the ref got faked out because the receiver was diving back for the ball. The receiver was going down diving for the ball before there was any contact. The ref probably thought he was going down because of some contact from the defender.

Top