Pass Interference: Yes or No?

Page 6 of Is this pass interference: Yes or No? This was a controversial play in last night's Belfry/Boyle game. I didn't want to post this in the game thread. h... 84 comments | 5551 Views | Go to page 1 →

  1. #76
    Jack Lambert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    1,030

    Quote Originally Posted by 85_Rebel View Post
    Attachment 67526

    This may shed some light on the conversation

    This is exactly what I saw from the sideline, and the side judge threw his flag immediately.
    Advertisement

  2. #77
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,564

    Iíve commented on this some and I will add if the ball isnít thrown behind the receiver a good chance of no contact as well, the idea of unavoidable contact as mentioned comes to mind again. The receiver has to cut back for the call when he seems to have the corner beat. This is a bang bang play, but for me I can think of a half dozen reasons why I wouldnít call it and only one of why I would. NASO runs a publication called referee.com and they have several books Iíve read written by seasoned officials one of them is called ďThe Ultimate Book On Pass InterferenceĒ it basically refers to five moves that constitute defensive PI. 1. Not playing the ball 2. Grabbing the arm 3. Cutoff 4. Armbar 5. Hook and turn. This one is most similar to a cutoff however, because the ball is under thrown that is the main reason for the cutoff, more so than the defender trying to.

  3. #78
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,564

    I’ll add too that this photo is part of what runs officials off, I called a game this year at a power program still alive in the playoffs that has a tv on the sidelines, their coaches criticized us constantly about 4 plays prior on something they saw on the replay they didn’t like. To be honest it was a program I greatly respected before that game, but for example holding our crew takes a philosophy that if holding is away from the point of attack on a run play we generally let it go to avoid a flag fest game. But photos like this and teams setting up replay cameras when officials can’t even see them are a huge turnoff. I’ve spent thousands of dollars on clinics, books, and licensing fees and I’ve never woke up trying to cheat a kid I don’t even know, but the criticism seems to be worse thanks in large part to technology.

    On this play I believe if you are consistent you can call it, but for me and crew I’m on it’s not a call we would make. Consistency and a philosophy are important for a crew and if you have one and stick to it I think that’s a much bigger deal than this play. But you can bet next preseason when our crew reconvenes we will watch this play and discuss it at length.

  4. #79

    Join Date
    Aug 09
    Posts
    425

    Quote Originally Posted by HT721 View Post
    Iíll add too that this photo is part of what runs officials off, I called a game this year at a power program still alive in the playoffs that has a tv on the sidelines, their coaches criticized us constantly about 4 plays prior on something they saw on the replay they didnít like. To be honest it was a program I greatly respected before that game, but for example holding our crew takes a philosophy that if holding is away from the point of attack on a run play we generally let it go to avoid a flag fest game. But photos like this and teams setting up replay cameras when officials canít even see them are a huge turnoff. Iíve spent thousands of dollars on clinics, books, and licensing fees and Iíve never woke up trying to cheat a kid I donít even know, but the criticism seems to be worse thanks in large part to technology.

    On this play I believe if you are consistent you can call it, but for me and crew Iím on itís not a call we would make. Consistency and a philosophy are important for a crew and if you have one and stick to it I think thatís a much bigger deal than this play. But you can bet next preseason when our crew reconvenes we will watch this play and discuss it at length.
    i see,based on your comments, why you and your crew are not working the playoffs. It is clearly interference and the reason it appears that Smith was coming back to an under thrown ball, is because he was hit early, pushing him away from the path of ball. It happened right in front of me and the official was right on top of the play. I really question your ability and integrity as an official based on your reasoning,comments and self promotion. I would really like to know where you are from and the region you work games in. This clearly shows that all officials are not on the same page as far as the rules go. All the clinics , books and fees in the world won't help an inept official that doesn't go by the rules. It is just like trying to improve your golf swing by buying better clubs and balls.

  5. #80
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,564

    Quote Originally Posted by Country View Post
    i see,based on your comments, why you and your crew are not working the playoffs. It is clearly interference and the reason it appears that Smith was coming back to an under thrown ball, is because he was hit early, pushing him away from the path of ball. It happened right in front of me and the official was right on top of the play. I really question your ability and integrity as an official based on your reasoning,comments and self promotion. I would really like to know where you are from and the region you work games in. This clearly shows that all officials are not on the same page as far as the rules go. All the clinics , books and fees in the world won't help an inept official that doesn't go by the rules. It is just like trying to improve your golf swing by buying better clubs and balls.
    I’m not calling Boyle County so you need not worry. Although I did call in postseason this year, just the way it worked out our association didn’t get any third round games this year. Some years we get two or three some years none just depends. And in the best photo here it looks like the receiver has his hands back towards the line of scrimmage lined up right with the ball so yes it’s underthrown. I get you are a Boyle fan but most any official will tell you that can go either way on that call. As I stated earlier too that is a call that is that HL’s call on a 5 man crew but on a 7 man like was used in this game his key is the TE. Which is another problem I have with it, but that’s a problem with going from 5 man to 7 man arbitrarily like KHSAA is doing this year. Most crews work a 7 man a couple of times a year then get late in playoffs and get the routine shaken up.

  6. #81
    newarkcatholicfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 00
    Location
    Buckeye Lake, Ohio
    Posts
    41,478

    From what I see on the video I could not call it.
    However I am betting from a different angel it definitley was pass interference.

  7. #82

    Join Date
    Aug 17
    Posts
    167

    Quote Originally Posted by Country View Post
    i see,based on your comments, why you and your crew are not working the playoffs. It is clearly interference and the reason it appears that Smith was coming back to an under thrown ball, is because he was hit early, pushing him away from the path of ball. It happened right in front of me and the official was right on top of the play. I really question your ability and integrity as an official based on your reasoning,comments and self promotion. I would really like to know where you are from and the region you work games in. This clearly shows that all officials are not on the same page as far as the rules go. All the clinics , books and fees in the world won't help an inept official that doesn't go by the rules. It is just like trying to improve your golf swing by buying better clubs and balls.
    It’s good to get a real nonbiased opinion. Don’t be such a homer that you won’t even listen. This gentleman put a lot of time in to his response. Don’t come back with an insult because you don’t agree. Grow up.

  8. #83
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,554

    Quote Originally Posted by Country View Post
    i see,based on your comments, why you and your crew are not working the playoffs. It is clearly interference and the reason it appears that Smith was coming back to an under thrown ball, is because he was hit early, pushing him away from the path of ball. It happened right in front of me and the official was right on top of the play. I really question your ability and integrity as an official based on your reasoning,comments and self promotion. I would really like to know where you are from and the region you work games in. This clearly shows that all officials are not on the same page as far as the rules go. All the clinics , books and fees in the world won't help an inept official that doesn't go by the rules. It is just like trying to improve your golf swing by buying better clubs and balls.
    Self promotion? Question his integrity? Come on man. He quoted the rule book. He stated resources that honestly if you coach you should invest in. Calling him an official that wonít go by the rules?

    Youíve got individuals in this thread, other threads and Friday nights that constantly display their lack of rule knowledge. There are people claiming you canít touch a rec before the ball gets there which is not the rule at all.

    Crews most certainly interpret and enforce rules differently from crew to crew and area to area. Iíve got a number of clips to back that up. Itís true in basketball and football for sure.

    So before we start slinging insults and getting holier than though how about we just say we agree or disagree with the call.

  9. #84

    Join Date
    Jul 15
    Location
    Danville, KY
    Posts
    2,079

    I can see from the video angle shown in the first post, which is also the angle in which Belfry fans coaches and players saw it, how it could be a no call. This angle looks like the defender was making a valid effort to go for the ball to intercept the pass in which contact is allowed. I also see from the reverse angle as shown in the last couple pictures, the angle in which the Boyle folks saw it and the official that made the call, how it can be called PI. This angle shows the defenders arm behind the receiver which does not imply that the defender was trying to intercept the pass but put himself in a position to either deflect the ball or tackle the receiver. It’s just one of those plays that looks different depending on your viewpoint. It is what it is at this point and I’m sure will be a great discussion video for officials this offseason.

  10. #85
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,554

    The defender doesn’t have to attempt to intercept. He can be attempting to bat the ball and some contact is allowed. I’m not trying to say the call should of been one way or the other. I’ve just been attempting to explain that how some think the rule works and how it actually works.

Top