Pass Interference: Yes or No?

Page 3 of Is this pass interference: Yes or No? This was a controversial play in last night's Belfry/Boyle game. I didn't want to post this in the game thread. h... 84 comments | 5899 Views | Go to page 1 →

  1. #31

    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by HT721 View Post
    No interference rule 7-5-7 states no PI until beyond the neutral zone and rule 2-28-2 allow for expansion of neutral zone two yards behind the defensive line of scrimmage. This is a no call Touchdown by the book. The ball appears to be snapped at the 44 yard line with d line at about the 44.5 yard mark and first contact occurs at the 46 yard line.
    I would love to also see a different angle but the ball appears to me to be spotted at the 43.5 and contact occurs at the 47. That is just by me slowing it down and trying to watch first contact with the defenders hand on him if that is what happened. The receivers foot appears to be at the 47 when a hand comes into play. I feel like this video is useless to come to a conclusion on this. Never the less it was a bang bang play.
    Advertisement

  2. #32

    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    127

    Also I questioned a call one time with an official and he stated that if I didn’t think he made the right call that they are looking for good refs all the time I should give it shot. Since that day I might question it to a buddy but most of them are doing the best they can do they aren’t trying to make the wrong call. So if we don’t like the calls and think that our eyes are so much better and in a crazy atmosphere we can remain calm and be perfect then we should sign up cause none of them are perfect. I am sure that wasn’t the only missed call in the game, how many holding penalties was there? You could literally call holding every play as far as I am concerned but no way 7 refs can see all 22 young men on the field at all times and make the correct call right? Or maybe I am wrong?

  3. #33
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,611

    Quote Originally Posted by HT721 View Post
    In the expanded neutral zone you can jam the receiver so you can have contact there which is where this contact occurs. The ball must clear the expanded neutral zone untouched before you the contact restrictions kick in.
    You can jam and bang rec almost all the way down the field in Fed rules. It has to do with a player being a potential blocker. Most officials say as soon as the rec gets even with you he is no longer a potential blocker. They still allow the contact as long as you donít turn the rec or impede. Of course if he hit the guy early youíll get the call too.

    The rule about the expanded neutral zone Iíve only seen applied to OL and DL. I canít find any place it references the an example of a forward pass that includes contact to a rec.

  4. #34

    Join Date
    Aug 17
    Posts
    22

    Horrible call, but, that is part of football. Eliminate the turnovers and Belfry still wins the football game. Great game and atmosphere. Smith is a big time athlete.

  5. #35
    Jack Lambert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    1,041

    Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    I canít believe that from this clip you can see the eyes of the defender, or hands on the back on Smith. Iíll take the word of the neutral paid person that was 10 feet from the play until I can see something better that can prove the ref was wrong.

    This video was taken from the top of the press box on the opposite side of the field and zoom/jumps during the play. Unless I see something different the call was correct IMO. The video does show the flag came out even before the ball was intercepted.
    My point exactly you couldnít see the pass interference unless you were on Boyleís side of the field the play happened 10 yds from me right in front of me and 3-4 yds from the side judge and Smith was falling back from the contact of the DB not diving for the ball.

  6. #36
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Quote Originally Posted by barrel View Post
    You can jam and bang rec almost all the way down the field in Fed rules. It has to do with a player being a potential blocker. Most officials say as soon as the rec gets even with you he is no longer a potential blocker. They still allow the contact as long as you don’t turn the rec or impede. Of course if he hit the guy early you’ll get the call too.

    The rule about the expanded neutral zone I’ve only seen applied to OL and DL. I can’t find any place it references the an example of a forward pass that includes contact to a rec.
    The expanded neutral zone applies to everything, that is why I cited both rules, often times to understand an entire situation it takes looking at both rule 7 is where you see about the ball havig to be past the neutral zone for PI and rule 2 defines what is the neutral zone and neutral zone expanded post snap.

  7. #37

    Join Date
    Jan 13
    Posts
    2,002

    Nope. Bang by bang play.

  8. #38
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Something else that hasn’t been mentioned, that isn’t the key for the official that threw the flag. This is part of why I don’t like not running a 7 man crew all year. A crew does it once or twice in regular season then doesn’t do it again until the third round. In a 5 man crew it is his key, but not in the 7 man.

  9. #39
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,611

    Quote Originally Posted by HT721 View Post
    The expanded neutral zone applies to everything, that is why I cited both rules, often times to understand an entire situation it takes looking at both rule 7 is where you see about the ball havig to be past the neutral zone for PI and rule 2 defines what is the neutral zone and neutral zone expanded post snap.
    The rule states that it “may be” expanded not that is always expanded. It can be expanded for one player on a play and not for another. For example on a play action pass an OL engages a DL and drives him up to 2 yards downfield. He is given the expanded neutral zone. If another OL in the same play is not engaged with a defender but drifts downfield 2 yards he is considered illegally downfield.

    If you take the rule as the expanded neutral zone always exists then a QB could be up to 2 yards past the LOS and still throw the ball legally. That is not the case.

    I believe someone stated the defender tipped the ball. If he tips the ball before contact or at the same time as contact then there is no DPI.

  10. #40
    Wireman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 05
    Location
    8507 Queens Boulevard
    Posts
    53,419

    I've watched it a bunch of times. I can't say based on this video. I'd love to see a video from the other sideline.

  11. #41
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Quote Originally Posted by barrel View Post
    The rule states that it “may be” expanded not that is always expanded. It can be expanded for one player on a play and not for another. For example on a play action pass an OL engages a DL and drives him up to 2 yards downfield. He is given the expanded neutral zone. If another OL in the same play is not engaged with a defender but drifts downfield 2 yards he is considered illegally downfield.

    If you take the rule as the expanded neutral zone always exists then a QB could be up to 2 yards past the LOS and still throw the ball legally. That is not the case.

    I believe someone stated the defender tipped the ball. If he tips the ball before contact or at the same time as contact then there is no DPI.
    The fact we are having this discussion shows how close a call it is. Passing for the Passer is about the only time I wouldn't expand the neutral zone though as a wing official. A big thing is to be consistent in how you treat it, I've always been taught and treated a pass as though it needs to be two yards from beyond the line of scrimmage before I call PI. I, also usually won't give the benefit of the doubt to a receiver like this when the ball is thrown behind him and he has to turn back to try and get it. Incidental contact does happen and the odds of it happening are greatly increased when a ball is under thrown.

  12. #42
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,611

    Quote Originally Posted by HT721 View Post
    The fact we are having this discussion shows how close a call it is. Passing for the Passer is about the only time I wouldn't expand the neutral zone though as a wing official. A big thing is to be consistent in how you treat it, I've always been taught and treated a pass as though it needs to be two yards from beyond the line of scrimmage before I call PI. I, also usually won't give the benefit of the doubt to a receiver like this when the ball is thrown behind him and he has to turn back to try and get it. Incidental contact does happen and the odds of it happening are greatly increased when a ball is under thrown.
    Great point. On a slightly different note is that something you can ask during pregame or even bring up on call like on a jailbreak screen? That the player caught the ball in the expanded neutral zone.

    Btw I agree it’s not DPI. My first though is for that ball to get tipped up like that the Belfry player would of hit it before or at the same time as contact.

  13. #43
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Quote Originally Posted by barrel View Post
    Great point. On a slightly different note is that something you can ask during pregame or even bring up on call like on a jailbreak screen? That the player caught the ball in the expanded neutral zone.

    Btw I agree it’s not DPI. My first though is for that ball to get tipped up like that the Belfry player would of hit it before or at the same time as contact.
    I think so, I believe it’s 100% fair game to ask the white hat during head coaches meeting what the crew philosophy is on this or that, keeping in mind that the meetings usually only have time for 2-3 minutes of talking.

  14. #44

    Join Date
    Aug 09
    Posts
    426

    It was the correct call. It happened right in front of me. The official did not hesitate. He had a better look than anyone . The defender had his hand in the receivers back, then tipped the ball. You play by the rules and live by the officials decision. Belfry had every advantage you could ask for and still Boyle just was the tougher team. Playing away and then coming off a four hour bus ride. Turnovers did play a big part in the game, but the defense played a big part in them. Boyle made some big hits to jar the ball loose and Reese Smith made a big time interception. Don't forget that Boyle had an unforced fumble with a bad exchange between Lanter and Crawford. Remember that Boyle just ran out the clock on that last drive rather than score again. Don't use the injury excuse either. The Rebels had three star quality athletes on the sidelines now out for the season, all being starters.

  15. #45

    Join Date
    Aug 17
    Posts
    187

    Depends on which side of the field you were on. It is a mute point if 3 catches the ball instead of deflecting it. But by putting his right hand on Smith before the ball arrived I would have made the same call.

Top