Intentional Pass interference

  1. #1
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Intentional Pass interference

    For the most part Iíve enjoyed the Belfry/Boyle pass interference video discussion. On that note I wanted to discuss a little known and almost never called rule about intentional pass interference. Per the rules in Kentucky if an official seems the act of the offender to be intentional pass interference the rules allow for an additional 15 yards to be tacked on making the penalty a 30 yard penalty. Just curious about peopleís thoughts on this and if anyone has actually seen it called.
    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Jumper_Dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Location
    To one who has faith, no explanation is necessary. To one without faith, no explanation is possible
    Posts
    48,397

    I've never seen it called, or for that matter ever heard of it.

  3. #3
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Quote Originally Posted by Jumper_Dad View Post
    I've never seen it called, or for that matter ever heard of it.
    I think most people coaches included don’t know about it, which certainly add to a hesitation to call it but it’s there under the penalties for rule 7 and in the chart on pass interference at the end of rule 7.

  4. #4
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Name:  AC8C7D8B-C6E2-432E-92CA-8DD28C6CB57E.png
Views: 475
Size:  194.0 KB

  5. #5
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

  6. #6
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Art. 10 explanation in the first photo is where you find it in the rules.

  7. #7
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,611

    That’s a rule in all Fed states right?

    I don’t know if I knew that was a rule or if I just thought it fell into a different category. I believe there is a rule that allows the official to enforce a 15 yard penalty due to a team intentionally abusing the rules. I know that isn’t exactly how the rule works.

    Now I’ve never seen that penalty called and I’d be surprised to ever see it called. It would have to be a pretty bad to get the call.

    There use to be (might still be) a kind of loophole with false start too. For example you are ahead and want to run out the clock. If you false start the penalty is marked off and a new 25 second game clock. The clock starts on the ready for play whistle. So there have been teams that have used that loophole to eat more clock. I do believe the official has the option to not start the clock on the ready to play whistle and/or to penalize the team.

  8. #8
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Quote Originally Posted by barrel View Post
    That’s a rule in all Fed states right?

    I don’t know if I knew that was a rule or if I just thought it fell into a different category. I believe there is a rule that allows the official to enforce a 15 yard penalty due to a team intentionally abusing the rules. I know that isn’t exactly how the rule works.

    Now I’ve never seen that penalty called and I’d be surprised to ever see it called. It would have to be a pretty bad to get the call.

    There use to be (might still be) a kind of loophole with false start too. For example you are ahead and want to run out the clock. If you false start the penalty is marked off and a new 25 second game clock. The clock starts on the ready for play whistle. So there have been teams that have used that loophole to eat more clock. I do believe the official has the option to not start the clock on the ready to play whistle and/or to penalize the team.
    In the final minutes the offended team can choose if clock starts or stops after false start/encroachment.

  9. #9
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,611

    That is a recent change right? Was that just added this past year?

  10. #10
    Jumper_Dad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Location
    To one who has faith, no explanation is necessary. To one without faith, no explanation is possible
    Posts
    48,397

    Yeah, I'd be surprised if most coaches or even refs know this rule. Most coaches even teach their defense to make an outright tackle if they are completely beaten to ensure they don't get the TD.

  11. #11
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Quote Originally Posted by barrel View Post
    That is a recent change right? Was that just added this past year?
    It’s newer, but wasn’t this year, I don’t remember what year they added that in.

  12. #12
    HT721's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 07
    Posts
    5,576

    Quote Originally Posted by Jumper_Dad View Post
    Yeah, I'd be surprised if most coaches or even refs know this rule. Most coaches even teach their defense to make an outright tackle if they are completely beaten to ensure they don't get the TD.
    Ya I didn’t know it until earlier in the year watching a training DVD where it was called. I’ve never been brace enough to call it, but have seen plenty of times where someone is beat and like you said just tackles them to avoid giving up the TD.

  13. #13
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,611

    There are also a number of times that grab or tackle happens before the ball is thrown. You know you’re beat and commit a penalty as you see the the QB going into his throwing motion. Odds are you’ll get called for DPI instead of holding.

    A newer clarification is a rec considered defenseless.

    A receiver attempting to catch a pass who has not had time to clearly become a runner

    Now I’ve never seen it called and I’ve never been able to get any real answer from a crew as far as what that means.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 17
    Posts
    102

    In the final 2 minutes of each half the offended team has the option of starting the clock on the snap on fouls when the clock would normally start on the ready. This prevents the team that fouls from gaining an advantage by committing a foul.

  15. #15
    barrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06
    Posts
    1,611

    Quote Originally Posted by Roundsteak View Post
    In the final 2 minutes of each half the offended team has the option of starting the clock on the snap on fouls when the clock would normally start on the ready. This prevents the team that fouls from gaining an advantage by committing a foul.
    Correct but that is a more recent rule change. Until recently that was not the case. I’ve also had officials not ask how we wanted to handle situations.

Top