You Be The Ref...

  1. #1
    SnottieDrippen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 15
    Location
    Temecula
    Posts
    2,740

    You Be The Ref...

    Witnessed something I found at once humorous and inexcusable last night.

    Fast break with one defender(A) ahead of the ball-handler(B). A sets up to take a charge near the lane, B runs into A, both players fall, two whistles blow.

    Official C, who was ahead of the break on the same side of the court as the ball, indicates an offensive foul, as Official D, running the opposite sideline just slightly behind the play calls a blocking foul and reports it to the scorer's table.

    C gets the attention of D and the two, along with Official E congregate and, upon the adjournment of the meeting, declare a double foul.

    Now, I was waaaaaaay out of position to criticize any call, block or charge, and on a fast break those are about 50/50 calls anyway, but to me, it's one or the other, and if no consensus can be reached, I say throw the thumbs up and give the coaches a sincere "My bad."

    Where are our resident professionals in making sense of this mess?
    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Clyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    90,185

    By rule they did the right thing ONCE they both came out with opposite calls. They cannot get together and pick one of the calls.

  3. #3
    lawildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 10
    Location
    The Compound
    Posts
    16,387

    Ah, the blarge. Good stuff!

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 15
    Posts
    385

    No offense to anyone; but the officiating this year seems to be really really bad. It is a difficult job I understand but over the Holiday break I have learned to appreciate the 5th region and our refs.

  5. #5
    sweet16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    The real WKY
    Posts
    19,214

    Blarge is the call. Jump ball.

  6. #6
    lawildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 10
    Location
    The Compound
    Posts
    16,387

    That's funny because I think the parents/fans seem to be getting really, really bad.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 16
    Posts
    85

    Classic...the blarge!

  8. #8
    Clyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    90,185

    Quote Originally Posted by sweet16 View Post
    Blarge is the call. Jump ball.
    Actually that's not true. It depends on where the ball was WHEN the fouls occurred.

    In most cases it occurs when the driving dribbler/shooter collides with the defender. In that case, the ball remains with the offense.

  9. #9
    sweet16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    The real WKY
    Posts
    19,214

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Actually that's not true. It depends on where the ball was WHEN the fouls occurred.

    In most cases it occurs when the driving dribbler/shooter collides with the defender. In that case, the ball remains with the offense.
    I've seen it called a jump ball every time I've seen the blarge called.

  10. #10
    SnottieDrippen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 15
    Location
    Temecula
    Posts
    2,740

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    By rule they did the right thing ONCE they both came out with opposite calls. They cannot get together and pick one of the calls.
    So the double foul is correct, regardless of how they reached the decision?

  11. #11
    Clyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    90,185

    Quote Originally Posted by sweet16 View Post
    I've seen it called a jump ball every time I've seen the blarge called.
    If it happened on the play I described they called it incorrectly.

    The only time I've seen it be a jump ball is when the collision happens AFTER the ball is released. At that point there is no possession so you go to the arrow.

  12. #12
    Clyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    90,185

    Quote Originally Posted by SnottieDrippen View Post
    So the double foul is correct, regardless of how they reached the decision?
    The double foul is the call because both signaled how they did. The discussion later is immaterial. The only purpose of that discussion is to make sure they are all clear on how to handle it (i.e. whose ball is it/where do we take it out of bounds/does the goal count, etc).

  13. #13
    SnottieDrippen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 15
    Location
    Temecula
    Posts
    2,740

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    If it happened on the play I described they called it incorrectly.

    The only time I've seen it be a jump ball is when the collision happens AFTER the ball is released. At that point there is no possession so you go to the arrow.
    For clarification, B was not in the act of shooting.

  14. #14
    Clyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    90,185

    Quote Originally Posted by SnottieDrippen View Post
    For clarification, B was not in the act of shooting.
    Offense retains possession. Not a jump ball.

  15. #15
    Vito Corleone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 16
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,150

    What would we do without you, Clyde?

Top