Scoring Question

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 15
    Posts
    76

    Scoring Question

    Offensive player outside the three point line throws a pass across the lane. Defensive player deflects the pass into the basket. Is it a two or three point goal as the last offensive player to touch it was outside the arc?
    This actually happened in last week's Anderson/Gallatin game.
    Advertisement

  2. #2
    NEERFAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 01
    Location
    Contest Stalwart per mcpapa
    Posts
    34,320

    I would say a three poi her since the offensive player was behind the arc.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 17
    Posts
    19

    2 pointer. The last person to touch the ball was inside the arc.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 07
    Posts
    1,284

    Quote Originally Posted by Young One View Post
    2 pointer. The last person to touch the ball was inside the arc.
    This ^^^^

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 15
    Posts
    76

    Quote Originally Posted by Young One View Post
    2 pointer. The last person to touch the ball was inside the arc.
    It was indeed ruled a two pointer without any discussion as at the time it seemed correct. But thinking further, what if a three pointer is attempted and the defensive player jumping from inside the arc touches it on a block attempt and it still goes in. In your logic that the last person to touch the ball was inside the arc, then that would also be a two pointer. Just wondering how the rules handle these situations.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 06
    Posts
    1,126

    I would say that the first was not a shot attempt but a pass. The second is a legal shot attempt not a pass.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 17
    Posts
    354

    Quote Originally Posted by dawgs83 View Post
    I would say that the first was not a shot attempt but a pass. The second is a legal shot attempt not a pass.
    Does the rule book address the difference between the two?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 17
    Posts
    354

    Wrong call by the official...

    Straight out of the NFHS Casebook. 5.2.1 Situation C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; or (b) B1 who is in the two-point area: (c) A2 who is in the three-point area: or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. Ruling: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area. Hope this clarifies.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 17
    Posts
    354

    Look at it this way. if the defensive player goal tends a 3 point shot they don't take away a point and make it 2 points since he was the last player to touch it inside the arc?

    It should be a 3 point shot. I've seen a million times where the ball is tipped on a 3 point shot but 3 points is still given.

    The only time an official makes a ruling on if a player is "shooting" or not is on a foul. In this situation, the rule-book literally says "throw" to prove that there is not difference between a pass and a shot in this situation.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 06
    Posts
    1,126

    From that ruling it should have been a three doesn't, matter if it was a shot attempt or pass.

  11. #11
    PP1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Location
    Walton
    Posts
    2,419

    If it would only count as 2 points then it would be to the defense's advantage to try and alley-oop on the attempt in their own basket.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 15
    Posts
    76

    Quote Originally Posted by Kentuckywildcat#1 View Post
    Wrong call by the official...

    Straight out of the NFHS Casebook. 5.2.1 Situation C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; or (b) B1 who is in the two-point area: (c) A2 who is in the three-point area: or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. Ruling: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area. Hope this clarifies.
    Thank for the clarification. Luckily, the game was a 12 point game and this play had no bearing on it. Was just such an unusual play that i wondered after the fact if it was correctly applied.

  13. #13
    WalterSobchak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 08
    Posts
    715

    It was the right call, It was a lob pass from the three point line.

  14. #14
    CincySportsFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 08
    Posts
    6,588

    Quote Originally Posted by WalterSobchak View Post
    It was the right call, It was a lob pass from the three point line.
    If the player was outside the arc, based upon the rule listed above, how can it be correct to award only 2 points?

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Nov 17
    Posts
    354

    Quote Originally Posted by WalterSobchak View Post
    It was the right call, It was a lob pass from the three point line.
    no. See above post with the actual rules example.

    If the defensive player takes possession of the ball, yes, it would be switched to 2 points. But on a "tip" it stays a 3.

Top