Rules question that I'm embarrassed that I don't know

  1. #1
    PP1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Location
    Florence
    Posts
    3,285

    Rules question that I'm embarrassed that I don't know

    If a bad pass hits a referee that is standing out of bounds and the ball bounces back in bounds without hitting the floor is it considered out of bounds?
    Advertisement

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,218

    Quote Originally Posted by PP1 View Post
    If a bad pass hits a referee that is standing out of bounds and the ball bounces back in bounds without hitting the floor is it considered out of bounds?
    Out of bounds.

  3. #3
    PP1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Location
    Florence
    Posts
    3,285

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Out of bounds.
    In the case I am referring to, the referee had his left foot OB on the side and another in bounds. A pass hit his elbow (which was on the in-bound side of the sideline) and bounced straight down on the in-bounds side. Ref blew his whistle and called OB. I guess he was right.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 15
    Posts
    2,054

    Quote Originally Posted by PP1 View Post
    In the case I am referring to, the referee had his left foot OB on the side and another in bounds. A pass hit his elbow (which was on the in-bound side of the sideline) and bounced straight down on the in-bounds side. Ref blew his whistle and called OB. I guess he was right.
    Saw that very call made at Augusta Friday night, and ball ruled out of bounds.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 03
    Location
    Northern Ky.
    Posts
    5,115

    Quote Originally Posted by PP1 View Post
    In the case I am referring to, the referee had his left foot OB on the side and another in bounds. A pass hit his elbow (which was on the in-bound side of the sideline) and bounced straight down on the in-bounds side. Ref blew his whistle and called OB. I guess he was right.
    It's out of bounds. Ref was right. Easy call.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 16
    Posts
    110

    Quote Originally Posted by Sandman View Post
    It's out of bounds. Ref was right. Easy call.
    Mercer-Cordia game today had a plsy in which the ref actually almost caught a pass in self defense basically...cordia player saw him with his peripheal vision and from about 15 feet away zipped it to him . Ref threw his hands up both hands on ball and basically dropped it ...players grabbed it and played on
    E

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    Big Bone, KY
    Posts
    2,262

    Whats the rule if a player has blood/scratch on him? Does he automatically have to leave the game or is there a "grace" period that the trainer on site can put a bandaid on him?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 08
    Posts
    243

    He has to leave the game.

Top