Rules Question

  1. #1
    Handy Manny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 08
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    776

    Rules Question

    This occurred in a basketball game yesterday and I was curious as to if it was called correctly or not.

    Player on team A makes a steal and heads across the midcourt line towards his basket. He continues in and makes an uncontested layup.

    Coach for team B enters the court after the steal, but before the make cursing at the official.

    The official blows his whistle and issues a technical foul on the coach. The official negates the basket, but awards two free throws and the ball.

    Was this ruled correctly and is it possible to stop a fast break with a bench technical.
    Advertisement

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 17
    Posts
    1,028

    No rule addresses this. Most good officials would penalize after the bucket.

  3. #3
    jahearme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 04
    Location
    On the 18th, putting for birdie
    Posts
    7,344

    I would have waited until after the basket to whack the coach.
    Make it as painful as possible for him/her.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    1,102

    This happened in the 1983 NCAA Final Four semi-final game between Louisville and Houston. Scooter McCray came up with a steal and was going in for a layup when Houston coach Guy Lewis threw a towel at McCray in disgust. The official immediately called a technical, thereby depriving Louisville of the basket.

    As ColonelPops indicates, many officials would wait until after the basket is made to call the technical. But there is no rule that says they must.

  5. #5
    Handy Manny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 08
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    776

    I was using the logic that it should be treated the same as an injured player and wait for a change of possession or a stop in the action. It seems like although called correctly that it should have penalized the offending team more. Made free throws are not guaranteed, but a made basket is.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    1,102

    Quote Originally Posted by Handy Manny View Post
    I was using the logic that it should be treated the same as an injured player and wait for a change of possession or a stop in the action. It seems like although called correctly that it should have penalized the offending team more. Made free throws are not guaranteed, but a made basket is.
    As I recall, Louisville missed the free throw (it was just one free throw at that time) and then turned the ball over, so the technical worked to Houston's advantage. I may have some of that wrong (it was 35 years ago), but that is how I remember it.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    Big Bone, KY
    Posts
    2,201

    Quote Originally Posted by Smallhoops View Post
    This happened in the 1983 NCAA Final Four semi-final game between Louisville and Houston. Scooter McCray came up with a steal and was going in for a layup when Houston coach Guy Lewis threw a towel at McCray in disgust. The official immediately called a technical, thereby depriving Louisville of the basket.

    As ColonelPops indicates, many officials would wait until after the basket is made to call the technical. But there is no rule that says they must.
    3:52 mark of the video

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Posts
    1,102

    Thanks, Just Jim. So I was a little wrong - Louisville missed one of two free throws and then got called for an offensive foul.

Top