Campbell County 60 Scott 48

Page 7 of Originally Posted by Clyde What would the discussion be? Seriously? Lol. Why conference then? I'm out on that. Advertisement Jan 31, 16, 01:26 PM ... 127 comments | 7158 Views | Go to page 1 →

  1. #91

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,218

    Quote Originally Posted by uselessinfo View Post
    This has always been a sore point with me. If it is in a primary infraction area for one official should any other official blow their whistle to make any calls not in their primary infraction area?
    Not realistic. Sometimes the person with primary are blocked. I had a play where I was running back down the court to get to the baseline on a break and a kid on offense must have traveled based on the reaction of the defense's coach and fans. I had no idea what happened as two players stepped in front of me. My primary. Had no idea what happened. My partner should have called it but didn't b/c it was my primary. Get the call.
    Advertisement

  2. #92
    4Runner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 10
    Location
    Petersburg, KY
    Posts
    452

    The Top 10 Most Controversial Moments in Sports History:

    10. Obstruction Rule
    9. Jordon's 1998 NBA Final Game Winner
    8. 1972 Basketball Gold Metal Match
    7. Hand of God
    6. Don Denkinger
    5. Brett Hull in the Crease
    4. The Replacement Ref Call
    3. The Fifth Down
    2. The Tuck Game
    1. 2016 Blarge Call

  3. #93

    Join Date
    Oct 12
    Posts
    1,098

    You're positive on a blarge that the bucket doesn't count? I saw a game where it didn't and the referee's got in trouble I thought? But that has been a while back

  4. #94

    Join Date
    Jan 13
    Posts
    2,034

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    Not realistic. Sometimes the person with primary are blocked. I had a play where I was running back down the court to get to the baseline on a break and a kid on offense must have traveled based on the reaction of the defense's coach and fans. I had no idea what happened as two players stepped in front of me. My primary. Had no idea what happened. My partner should have called it but didn't b/c it was my primary. Get the call.
    Yes I agree with you and understand your point. I have never refereed basketball with three officials so I would assume it might be the most difficult to referee. My contention is with three officials is more emphasis placed on "your area" vs the old two man crews.

  5. #95

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,218

    Quote Originally Posted by 8th Region Warrior View Post
    You're positive on a blarge that the bucket doesn't count? I saw a game where it didn't and the referee's got in trouble I thought? But that has been a while back
    I think the only way it can count (and I'd have to look up the old case books) is if the ball was released PRIOR to the contact.

  6. #96

    Join Date
    Apr 14
    Posts
    4,497

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    I think the only way it can count (and I'd have to look up the old case books) is if the ball was released PRIOR to the contact.
    Clyde, Birdbrain and others, I for one really appreciate you guys sharing your working technical knowledge. Has helped to clarify many times and answers many questions about primary.

    Still hate the blarge and think a rule change would be in order to create fairer treatment for both O & D and resultingly some degree of equity. Perhaps???? Bucket counts, both get fouls, D get ball (no possession arrow consideration), and One treatment could be considered as part of equity rule change, or not.

  7. #97

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,218

    Quote Originally Posted by Oldercoach View Post
    Clyde, Birdbrain and others, I for one really appreciate you guys sharing your working technical knowledge. Has helped to clarify many times and answers many questions about primary.

    Still hate the blarge and think a rule change would be in order to create fairer treatment for both O & D and resultingly some degree of equity. Perhaps???? Bucket counts, both get fouls, D get ball (no possession arrow consideration), and One treatment could be considered as part of equity rule change, or not.
    I don't think you'll see that since there's no downside to the offense.

    We all agree that the blarge is bad. No argument there.

  8. #98

    Join Date
    Jan 16
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by Randy Parker View Post
    I'm wanting to say it was from the top of the key & not a wing.
    Ohmer drove from just below the wing (almost the baseline) to the paint.

  9. #99

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,218

    Quote Originally Posted by Pree 4 three View Post
    Ohmer drove from just below the wing (almost the baseline) to the paint.
    Thanks. So he drove from the primary of either the trail (same side as the lead) or the center official. Again, they probably pre-gamed it saying "I'll take it all the way to the rim if it comes from my primary." Both can "get the call" but at least one needed to be slow coming out with a signal. Happens. I don't have a problem with this happening as much as an official not knowing a rule.

  10. #100

    Join Date
    Dec 12
    Posts
    37

    According to the case book the correct ruling on a blarge and one.. You count the basket call a double foul and give the ball to the other team from point of interruption.........4.19.8. A1 and B1 foul each other at the same time. Contact occurs during (a) live ball situation or (b) dead ball situation.... Ruling in (a) it's a double personal foul and in (b) it's a double technical... No free throws are awarded in A or B and play resumes from point of interruption.

  11. #101
    Randy Parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 08
    Location
    In the snow, laying there like a slug
    Posts
    68,950

    Quote Originally Posted by Pree 4 three View Post
    Ohmer drove from just below the wing (almost the baseline) to the paint.
    Like I said, he was almost on the baseline.

  12. #102

    Join Date
    Jan 14
    Location
    My Own Little World
    Posts
    244

    This thread is almost as intense as the game.... I'm sweating reading this ..

  13. #103

    Join Date
    Feb 15
    Posts
    258

    Quote Originally Posted by Coach17 View Post
    According to the case book the correct ruling on a blarge and one.. You count the basket call a double foul and give the ball to the other team from point of interruption.........4.19.8. A1 and B1 foul each other at the same time. Contact occurs during (a) live ball situation or (b) dead ball situation.... Ruling in (a) it's a double personal foul and in (b) it's a double technical... No free throws are awarded in A or B and play resumes from point of interruption.
    Interesting. This is about as fair as it's going to get. I believe they waved off Ohmers basket the other night.

    So basically offense gets basket; defense gets no FT & ball; double foul.

    What happens if shot is missed? Double foul & possession arrow?

  14. #104

    Join Date
    Dec 14
    Posts
    288

    I'm just saying. The play happened right under the basket. Ohmer drove from the top of the key. Baseline ref called a blocking foul and counted the and-1. Sideline ref came running in calling a charge. My question was how did he have a clear view of the play from the sideline to basically overturn the and-1. Ohmer got no shot and the basket didn't count.

  15. #105

    Join Date
    May 10
    Location
    The Compound
    Posts
    18,411

    The fish get bigger and bigger every time someone catches one in this thread.

Top