Right or Wrong?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 15
    Location
    Nky
    Posts
    200

    Right or Wrong?

    In a high school basketball game, your up 10-12 pts with a couple mins left. A hard foul is called and the same player the foul was called on gets a T for "some extra emotions". The ref comes over to the coach and the coach says what is the situation. The ref replies a 2 shot foul and a technical. I need the player fouled. The coach looks at the ref and says it was this one and she will shoot the T as well. So basically the girl who was fouled hard lost her free throws and the coach slyly put his better shooter at the line to hit all 4 but she wasn't the one fouled. How the other team didn't realize it is another topic as well but most in the stands did.

    Is that smart coaching? Bad sportsmanship? Many parents talking about it and interested to hear others opinions.
    Advertisement

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 05
    Posts
    1,800

    Didn't UK and Travis Ford pull this off back in the day maybe at LSU? Why not try, if the refs and the other coach didn't pick up on it...

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 08
    Posts
    91,218

    It's really bad for the officials. You have 2 or 3 officials and no one knows who the real shooter is?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 09
    Posts
    7,358

    Scored a lot of points in HS doing that. No matter who was fouled I always went to the FT line to shoot.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 15
    Location
    Nky
    Posts
    200

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde View Post
    It's really bad for the officials. You have 2 or 3 officials and no one knows who the real shooter is?
    Yes correct. not 1 noticed it, but when the player went down hard there was a lot of commotion and other players around them helping them up and such.

    This isn't D1 mens, but what message does this send to 14-18 year olds

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 10
    Location
    The Compound
    Posts
    18,411

    Quote Originally Posted by Deuces22 View Post
    Yes correct. not 1 noticed it, but when the player went down hard there was a lot of commotion and other players around them helping them up and such.

    This isn't D1 mens, but what message does this send to 14-18 year olds
    How about refs are human and sometimes make mistakes?!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 15
    Location
    Nky
    Posts
    200

    Quote Originally Posted by NKY Bandit View Post
    Scored a lot of points in HS doing that. No matter who was fouled I always went to the FT line to shoot.
    I agree with that. But when a coach is asked and they flat out lie. Is there a difference. I don't know .

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 15
    Location
    Nky
    Posts
    200

    Quote Originally Posted by lawildcat View Post
    How about refs are human and sometimes make mistakes?!
    I am not making any judgment about the refs, I agree with your comment

  9. #9
    OlDog75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 06
    Location
    Sittin' in the stands above the 50 yard line.
    Posts
    10,114

    Quote Originally Posted by Deuces22 View Post
    In a high school basketball game, your up 10-12 pts with a couple mins left. A hard foul is called and the same player the foul was called on gets a T for "some extra emotions". The ref comes over to the coach and the coach says what is the situation. The ref replies a 2 shot foul and a technical. I need the player fouled. The coach looks at the ref and says it was this one and she will shoot the T as well. So basically the girl who was fouled hard lost her free throws and the coach slyly put his better shooter at the line to hit all 4 but she wasn't the one fouled. How the other team didn't realize it is another topic as well but most in the stands did.

    Is that smart coaching? Bad sportsmanship? Many parents talking about it and interested to hear others opinions.
    It's sneaky, but has happened since forever. Assistant coaches need to make sure this doesn't occur. And I might ask why the referees didn't catch it as well, but I'd make sure my assistants payed close attention to that stuff.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 10
    Location
    The Compound
    Posts
    18,411

    Quote Originally Posted by okie1 View Post
    Didn't UK and Travis Ford pull this off back in the day maybe at LSU? Why not try, if the refs and the other coach didn't pick up on it...
    Vanderbilt. I remember because I was at the Tennessee game that they missed as a result.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Aug 04
    Posts
    25,127

    Quote Originally Posted by Deuces22 View Post
    I agree with that. But when a coach is asked and they flat out lie. Is there a difference. I don't know .
    The refs shouldn't be asking the coach who was fouled. Which is essentially what they did.

  12. #12
    Voice of Reason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 08
    Location
    N. KY.
    Posts
    33,007

    Quote Originally Posted by Deuces22 View Post
    I agree with that. But when a coach is asked and they flat out lie. Is there a difference. I don't know .
    Are you sure the coach knew who should be at the line for 2 of the free throws and purposely sent the wrong person up there?

    We are only talking about two of the four free throws because the two technicals can be shot by whoever the coach wants to send to the line

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 01
    Location
    Martinsville, Virginia
    Posts
    17,795

    Quote Originally Posted by lawildcat View Post
    Vanderbilt. I remember because I was at the Tennessee game that they missed as a result.
    Of course I remember the one that got away from UK in 1976. TN vs KY at Memorial. Twice Ernie Grunfeld took FT's that were meant for Bernard King and Doug Ashworth. Made all four. Cats lost by 2 in Overtime.

  14. #14
    BirdBrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 09
    Posts
    5,393

    Quote Originally Posted by Deuces22 View Post
    I agree with that. But when a coach is asked and they flat out lie. Is there a difference. I don't know .
    Yes, this is a problem. A rule violation. Intentionally sending the wrong shooter to the line. Are we sure that this wasn't a "medical" shooter ? In other words the girl that got fouled wasn't "able" to shoot ? (Even if this was the case, it would still appear to be administered incorrectly)

    I have to agree with @Clyde....bad day for 3 officials. No way one of them shouldn't have picked up the shooter and relayed to rest of crew.

  15. #15
    BirdBrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 09
    Posts
    5,393

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatz View Post
    Of course I remember the one that got away from UK in 1976. TN vs KY at Memorial. Twice Ernie Grunfeld took FT's that were meant for Bernard King and Doug Ashworth. Made all four. Cats lost by 2 in Overtime.
    Ha, ha....Cat was probably like 5 years old during this timeframe....pretty sure she has no idea who Bernard King is...just sayin'

Top