Wisconsin 81 Western Kentucky 80

Page 2 of Really tough ending for the Toppers.... 38 comments | 918 Views | Go to page 1 →

  1. #16
    Mack The Knife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 05
    Location
    "Last night when we were young"
    Posts
    5,823

    You people can’t see that was an illegal screen? Which also should not have been called. That’s a play on.
    Advertisement

  2. #17
    gchs_uk9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 02
    Posts
    21,556

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatz View Post
    He called it a block and then changed it to charge? Terrible work by official.
    Quote Originally Posted by MJAlltheWay24 View Post
    Can't be a charge if it was called on the defensive player.
    The announcers kept talking about a charge but you can only charge if you have the ball, right? I guess block is the right call when it comes to nomenclature but the ref should have signaled "pushing" on the Western player.

    No matter the situation, I absolutely hate that play.

  3. #18

    Join Date
    Dec 17
    Posts
    1,483

    The only way I see an illegal screen is due to not giving him time to stop. You have to give the player time to stop when he is moving. His foot being off the floor or him moving backwards at the time of contact is not illegal.

    It would also be illegal if the foot of the screener was OOB.

  4. #19
    mooremiller31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 07
    Location
    Frankfort, KY
    Posts
    1,293

    The best part is that the Wisconsin player's foot was out of bounds which makes him an illegal defender and should've been a foul on him giving the ball back to WKU.

  5. #20
    woodsrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 04
    Posts
    20,333

    Quote Originally Posted by Mack The Knife View Post
    You people can’t see that was an illegal screen? Which also should not have been called. That’s a play on.
    No because it wasn't an illegal screen IMO.

  6. #21
    woodsrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 04
    Posts
    20,333

    Quote Originally Posted by mooremiller31 View Post
    The best part is that the Wisconsin player's foot was out of bounds which makes him an illegal defender and should've been a foul on him giving the ball back to WKU.
    His foot wasn't out of bounds. Go watch the video in the twitter link Wireman posted. The second angle clearly shows his foot in bounds.

  7. #22
    Randy Parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 08
    Location
    In the snow, laying there like a slug
    Posts
    66,248

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackie Ed View Post
    Why did the official on the baseline signal block if it was a charge? I thought the guy from Wisconsin didnt have his left foot planted when contact was made (I watched it live) and replay confirmed it for me. Thought it was a bad call. But thats a play 4th graders are taught.
    Agreed

  8. #23
    Wireman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 05
    Location
    8507 Queens Boulevard
    Posts
    53,419

    Here are some more reasons why it was a terrible call and home cooking at its best:

    Twitter

  9. #24
    woodsrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 04
    Posts
    20,333

    Quote Originally Posted by Wireman View Post
    Here are some more reasons why it was a terrible call and home cooking at its best:

    Twitter
    Reading that then yes, it should have not been a foul on WKY. If the feet being wider than shoulders is a violation then I assume Wisconsin player should have been called for illegal screen.

  10. #25
    Wireman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 05
    Location
    8507 Queens Boulevard
    Posts
    53,419

    Quote Originally Posted by woodsrider View Post
    Reading that then yes, it should have not been a foul on WKY. If the feet being wider than shoulders is a violation then I assume Wisconsin player should have been called for illegal screen.
    To be perfectly honest, I didn't know that was a rule either. I think the referee should have been on top of that though. Too tough to tell if his foot was on the line so I don't think that can be used.

  11. #26

    Join Date
    Aug 04
    Posts
    10,329

    I thought the call was OK. The ref just made a mistake in signaling what the call was...kind of like a football ref mistakenly calling a penalty on the defense when it was really on the offense. It was corrected immediately. I don't like the strategy employed by UW to draw the foul but it's legal so what can you do?

  12. #27
    The Professor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 04
    Location
    Sag Hollow
    Posts
    20,936

    Quote Originally Posted by 75center View Post
    I thought it was a foul on WKU. There were other calls/non calls that bothered me more. Tough loss.
    It appeared in the video that the Wisconsin player was falling backwards before contact was made. Thatís either a blocking foul or a no call. Preferably a no call.

  13. #28
    The Professor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 04
    Location
    Sag Hollow
    Posts
    20,936

    I hate these type calls.

    Dan Issel was fouled out of the NCAA regionals in 1970 by a little guard who was running across the floor toward Big Dan while Dan was catching a pass close to half court similar to how a receiver would catch one over his shoulder in football. The guard ran under him and both went down. Should have been a blocking foul on the guard but they called Dan’s 5th foul which contributed to UK losing in overtime to Jacksonville.

    I’m still mad about that bogus call and it’s been 48 years since it happened, lol.

  14. #29

    Join Date
    Dec 17
    Posts
    1,483

    Quote Originally Posted by Wireman View Post
    To be perfectly honest, I didn't know that was a rule either. I think the referee should have been on top of that though. Too tough to tell if his foot was on the line so I don't think that can be used.
    You'll never see a foul called on the picker unless his feet are way outside his body.

  15. #30

    Join Date
    Dec 17
    Posts
    1,483

    Quote Originally Posted by The Professor View Post
    It appeared in the video that the Wisconsin player was falling backwards before contact was made. That’s either a blocking foul or a no call. Preferably a no call.
    Watch it again. Starts to fall when defender's right arm makes contact and then the body makes contact. If the official sees defender try to stop then he can let it go. If he doesn't see him stop it's a foul on the defender.

Top