If you go out of bounds...

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 13
    Posts
    8,506

    If you go out of bounds...

    Can you be the first person to touch the ball after coming back in bounds? For some reason I believe there was a rule against that but I just watched it happen and the announcers, nor the refs picked up on it. So I'm curious what the rule is on that?
    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 04
    Location
    Pikeville
    Posts
    16,007

    As long as the player isn't touching out of bounds when they are also touching the ball, it's not an issue in basketball to my knowledge.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 04
    Posts
    24,554

    Quote Originally Posted by Hangman View Post
    As long as the player isn't touching out of bounds when they are also touching the ball, it's not an issue in basketball to my knowledge.
    Believe the same, not like football.

  4. #4
    LRCW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    In God's hands
    Posts
    56,256

    Quote Originally Posted by JDEaston View Post
    Can you be the first person to touch the ball after coming back in bounds? For some reason I believe there was a rule against that but I just watched it happen and the announcers, nor the refs picked up on it. So I'm curious what the rule is on that?
    You have to establish your feet on the floor in bounds before touching the ball after being out of bounds.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 13
    Posts
    8,506

    Quote Originally Posted by LRCW View Post
    You have to establish your feet on the floor in bounds before touching the ball after being out of bounds.
    The players feet (Kansas player) were certainly established but only half of their feet were. Heels were out of bounds. I was just curious on the call to be honest because it wasn't called and non of the tv guys even mentioned it. Seemed off to me and the tv guys usually pick up on that.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 01
    Location
    Martinsville, Virginia
    Posts
    17,348

    2015 UK vs Wisconsin game. Koenig tipped a ball back in near the goal and recovered it without putting his feet back inbounds. You have to re establish with both feet inside again is the rule I believe.

    Of course I could be mistaken and I’m certainly not bitter.

  7. #7
    sweet16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    The real WKY
    Posts
    21,136

    Both feet back in and you are good to go.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 07
    Posts
    1,284

    Player may not leave the playing court “voluntarily” and be the first to touch it in bounds.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 17
    Posts
    1,483

    The “two feet” thing is a fallacy. As long as you’re not out of bounds you’re good.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 01
    Location
    Martinsville, Virginia
    Posts
    17,348

    Quote Originally Posted by ColonelPops View Post
    The “two feet” thing is a fallacy. As long as you’re not out of bounds you’re good.
    So a kid standing out of bounds can jump back in and touch the ball as long as their body is in bounds and/or land back inbounds even if you touched the ball before you touched inbounds?

  11. #11
    sweet16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 02
    Location
    The real WKY
    Posts
    21,136

    Quote Originally Posted by ColonelPops View Post
    The “two feet” thing is a fallacy. As long as you’re not out of bounds you’re good.
    You have to establish yourself in bounds

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 07
    Posts
    1,284

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatz View Post
    So a kid standing out of bounds can jump back in and touch the ball as long as their body is in bounds and/or land back inbounds even if you touched the ball before you touched inbounds?
    No, violation

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Dec 07
    Posts
    1,284

    Quote Originally Posted by ColonelPops View Post
    The “two feet” thing is a fallacy. As long as you’re not out of bounds you’re good.
    True one foot can establish in bounds as long as other is not touching OOB

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Dec 08
    Posts
    15,520

    Quote Originally Posted by atm10 View Post
    True one foot can establish in bounds as long as other is not touching OOB
    This is correct.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 17
    Posts
    1,483

    Quote Originally Posted by Hatz View Post
    So a kid standing out of bounds can jump back in and touch the ball as long as their body is in bounds and/or land back inbounds even if you touched the ball before you touched inbounds?
    No.

Top