Football Team

  1. #1
    theguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 00
    138,974 Football Team

    Continuing its tradition of leadership in Kentucky high school sports information, news and discussion, announces the third annual Football Team.

    The All-BGP Team honors the state's top 36 players, starting with the best players at 12 offensive and 12 defensive positions. As a special feature, the All-BGP team also recognizes 12 players whose versatility and all-around contributions on offense, defense and special teams embody the spirit of high school football.

    Nominations were accepted by coaches, media, and the fans, with a panel of statewide football experts narrowing those nominations into the All-BGP Team.

    In addition, Lexington Catholic quarterback Justin Burke was named the Player of the Year, while his coach, Bob Sphire, who guided the Knights to the school's first state football title, was named Coach of the Year.



    QB - Justin Burke, Lexington Catholic
    RB - Victor Anderson, Saint Xavier
    RB - Rod Johnson, Henry Clay
    WR - Cornell Burbage, Lexington Catholic
    WR - Chris LaMar, Henderson County
    TE - Sam Gardner, Henry Clay
    OL - Jeff Adams, Trigg County
    OL - Josh Asher, Paul Dunbar
    OL - Derrick Elder, Saint Xavier
    OL - Stuart Hines, Bowling Green
    OL - Justin Jeffries, Saint Xavier
    K - Tim Dougherty, Saint Xavier


    DL - Aundre Henderson, DuPont Manual
    DL - Josh Minton, Southwestern
    DL - Brendan Nestor, Bowling Green
    DL - Corey Peters, Central
    LB - Micah Johnson, Fort Campbell
    LB - Orlando Misaalefua, Fort Campbell
    LB - Matt Sauerbeck, Campbell County
    DB - Leonard Gordon, Fort Campbell
    DB - Garnett Phelps, Ballard
    DB - Eric Senn, Trinity
    DB - Brian Winklepleck, Owensboro Catholic
    P - Ryan Tydlacka, Trinity


    ATH - Kaelin Ammons, Franklin County
    ATH - Darius Baughman, Danville
    ATH - Doug Beaumont, Male
    ATH - Jimmy Chaffin, Lynn Camp
    ATH - Kasey Clark, Russell
    ATH - Blaine Donnell, Trinity
    ATH - T. K. Guess, Crittenden County
    ATH - Angel Gurule, Ashland
    ATH - Matt Maynard, Belfry
    ATH - Luke Stocker, Madison Southern
    ATH - Seth Tamme, Boyle County
    ATH - Paul Warford, Madison Central

    PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Justin Burke, Lexington Catholic
    COACH OF THE YEAR: Bob Sphire, Lexington Catholic