Colonels_Wear_Blue's Avatar
Today marks the KHSAA’s first ever “Officiate Kentucky Day” gathering and conference, which is taking place in the Louisville Marriott.

Officiate Kentucky Day is a one-day gathering of sports and sport activity officials from throughout the Commonwealth to celebrate the officiating industry. This event allows the KHSAA to partner with the National Association of Sports Officials as part of their “state day” program and will showcase nationally known collegiate and professional officials as well as high schools officials to share their knowledge, skills and expertise in officiating.

Officiate Kentucky Day is a lead-in to the National Association of Sports Officials (NASO) Summit that will follow July 30-Aug. 1, also at Marriott Downtown in Louisville.

Legendary sports officials and industry leaders including Jerry Markbriet, Billy Kennedy, Steve Shaw, Joe Crawford, Dean Blandino, Bill Carollo, Scott Green, Marcy Weston, Sandra Serafini, Steve Javie, Tom Lopes, Terry Gregson, Joan Powell, Mike Pereira and others have been involved with the state day programs in the last few years and are expected to be involved when the industry comes to the Derby City.


With nearly 700 officials in attendance for the first-ever Officiate Kentucky Day,the KHSAA honored its top officials of the 2016-17 season during the day’s festivities at the Marriott Louisville Downtown. The top officials for each sport or sport-activity the Association licenses officials were honored as part of the annual officials recognition program during a luncheon on Saturday.

This year’s nominees and winners (in bold) for the 2016-17 season are:

Baseball— Randy Ross (Morehead), Bryan Hockman (Russellville), Kyle Maggard(Hazard),

Basketball — Molly Caldwell (Lexington), Kristie Combs (Hazard), Tim Trent (Pikeville), Barry Vincent (Bowling Green)

Competitive Cheer — Ruth Sorace (Elizabethtown), Judy Lowry (Lexington)

Field Hockey — Mary Brainard (Lexington), Craig Kalbfleisch (Louisville)

Football — Brian Taylor (Russell), Joe Ammerman (Cynthiana), Tyrone Fields (Whitesburg)

Soccer — Keith Green (Wingo), Eric Morwessel (Ft.Wright)

Softball — Chuck Standiford (Hopkinsville), Mike Carby (Bowling Green)

Swimming & Diving — Alan Hall (Russellville),Paul Dole (Corbin)

Track & Field/Cross Country — David Clark (Dry Ridge), Kenny Morton (Louisville)

Volleyball — Ben de Jesus (Louisville), Molly Gubser (Independence)

Wrestling — Jason Sedoris (Louisville), Mike Ford (Georgetown)

Larry G. Boucher, Jr. Supervisor of the Year — Nancy Funk (Louisville)

In addition, Brian Taylor was presented an NASO Good Call Award for his role in the 2016 6A football championship game.